Baked Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
These were sooooooo delicious, but I did a few things different. Like other users, I cut the potatoes into smaller pieces, about an inch. They only took about 40 minutes to cook. I was out of oregano, so I just stuck with the olive oil, salt and pepper, but I added 2 garlic cloves (crushed), and half of a yellow onion, diced. OMG was it good! Thanks for the recipe. I've never done sweet potatoes like this, so I'm very glad I found this recipe. ***Update*** I made these with some cheddar cheese sprinkled on top for the last 15 minutes or so. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
895 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniél M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tomato-tomata
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I made this recipe exactly as written. The only thing I changed was that I cut the peices a little smaller ( 1.5 inch cubes) I covered them for the first 20 minutes then baked for an additional 30 minutes. They were SO DELICIOUS! I love oregano and I was surprised to have it on sweet potatoes, but it was fantastic. I shuffled the potatoes around 3 times during baking so that they wouldn't be hard on the bottoms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
398 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
After following the directions, I thought there was to much oregano taste. So I tried it again by bumping up the salt & pepper to 1 teaspoon each and the oregano to 1/2 a teaspoon. I dump everything into a large bowl and mix it all by had to get the potatoes well coated, then bake as directd. I do not turn them over. YUM. Now it is one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These were a big hit with my fiance. He hates sweet potatoes, but I pressed on and tried them anyway. I'm glad I did because he requests these time and again. The only thing I do differently is to poke holes in the potatoes and put them in the microwave for a few minutes to soften them up before cutting into cubes. The first time I made them it took me 30 minutes to cut up two large sweet potatoes and my hands were cursing me afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great recipe and a nice change usual sweet, sugary sweet potato side dishes! I love sweet potatoes so roasting them like this was not only tasty, but just as easy as wrapping them in foil and baking them. I cut the potatoes into small pieces, opted for rosemary vs. oregano and sprayed my baking dish with a little Pam before baking. I also upped my oven temp. to 400. I turned them a few times during baking and they were done in about 45 minutes. Excellent with grilled pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Excellent! What a great healthy way to make sweet potatoes. I agree with others that it was nice to see a sweet potatoe recipe that did not call for brown sugar! The whole family loved this (husband and 21 month old daughter) I will make this again and again. I used rosemary instead of oregano and season salt instead of regular salt. **** I have made this recipe with both the oregano as called for and the rosemary as many reviewers recommend and the rosemary is MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Love this. I was looking for a healthy way to prepare sweet potatoes, and this is it. Tastes nice as written, but I now add Hungarian Paprika to give it some kick. Cayenne works as well. Also, if you want just a little sweetness to this, without making the candied version, some carmelized onions mixed in after baking tastes marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I was also looking for a sweet potato recipe that wasn't full of brown sugar and marshmallows. This was perfect. Everyone in the family enjoyed it. I plan on using this recipe frequently this summer when we're doing a lot of grilling - this will be a perfect side dish, and I may try this on the grill, too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHUXTABLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
Lots of points from me for being easy and savory. I made this with yams. I'm a fan of sweet potatoes and yams but I hate those sticky candied yam dishes. Ugh. This recipe is simple but brings out the flavor of the yams instead of drowning them in syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
DELICIOUS. EVEN BETTER WARMED UP THE NEXT DAY. THIS LEADS ME TO THINK THAT THE COOKING TIME MIGHT BE EXTENDED. JRW of Sarasota
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States