Baked Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Made this and chopped them into small 1 in pieces. Put oregano on only half of the pan, the other half had only sea salt on it. Everyone liked these. Easy! Made 5 sweet potatoes the first time. I liked the ones with oregano a lot. I did not measure it out, just sprinkled it on. Also baked it at 400 and stirred it around a little during baking and put it on the jelly roll pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
great recipe--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I have been roasting sweet potatoes/yams for years. I peel and cube them to 1.0-1.5 inch cubes, it never takes me more than 10 minutes to do this. Then I toss them in oil, sprinkle with spices and spread them out on a foil (or parchment) lined cookie sheet. Never takes more than 20-30 minutes to cook. If you don't turn them (I don't) they get crispy and brown on the bottom, but we love that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
it was good, but really nothing special. Good way to prepare sweet potatoes, but lacked flavor in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brett Whitcomb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Confession: I subbed rosemary for the oregano after reading reviews, and I'm glad I did. Rosemary just sounded so good with these... and it is!! The sweet potato and herb combo smell heavenly while roasting. Great side dish, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookTo$ave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Baked Sweet Potatoes Haiku: "Cut pieces smaller. And added some rosemary. Taste great, but squishy." Not sure if we were expecting these to get crisp the way that oven roasted red potatoes do, but the flavor was so awesome, I was OK w/ them being on the smooshy side. Very nice to eat a sweet potato dish that wasn't bathed in honey, brown sugar, or marshmellows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
did not like. Seasoning overpowered the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Really good. Husband followed recipe exactly. Next time I'd like to try one of the suggestions of using Cajun, basil or Italian seasoning instead of oregano & then decide which is our favorite. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was simple and delicious... I used Herbes de Provence that contained both oregano and rosemary instead of just oregano based on comments from other reviews stating that rosemary was great on the potatoes. So glad I did! I served it with maple-garlic marinated pork tenderloin from this site, and the flavors went wonderfully together. Thank you for a great, non-sweet, sweet potato recipe! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I made this recipe as written but adjusted the servings for 2 and used 2 medium-size sweet potatoes. Overall, these were good but not great. 60 minutes of cooking left them a bit too soft and there was more oil than necessary. The flavor was good. I will make these again and add rosemary, as other reviewers have suggested. Also, reduce the oil and cooking time. I think with a few small changes these could be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arasmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States