Baked Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I just started making this recipe a couple of years ago. In my family growing up the only time we had sweet potato's was for the holidays, my mother always fixed the candied type recipe and we all know you can only deal with that dish once a year. Poor mom, she missed out on enjoying this versatile vegetable throughout the year in a healthier way. I usually fix this with a combination of sweet potato and yam or even beets, I like the colors. I also vary the herbs I use, oregano, rosemary or sage, sometimes even minced fresh garlic. I chop up my potato's in the same manner this recipe calls for, I find that they get crispier on the outside while remaining nice and steamy on the inside, if you cut them up smaller be sure to cut your baking time by about 10-15 minutes or they will just become over cooked and hard. One last word, In reading a couple dozen of the reviews I noticed that about 95% of the reviewers misspelled the word "potato", is this an American phenomenon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Have made similar dishes with sweet potatoes. For those, like me, who aren't big fans of oregano, try sprinkling curry powder on. I don't know what it is about it but it really enhances the flavor of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
These sweet potatoes turned out absolutely delicious, I am very please with the recipe! I followed the recipe exactly, scaling the portion in half to serve only two people. I think because of that, or maybe my potatoes were cut smaller, it took less baking time - more like 40 - 45 minutes for me. I didn't alter any spices or the olive oil, and it tasted so simple, healthy and wonderful. I will be putting this recipe into my dinner rotation for sure, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This straightforward but delicious recipe was perfect for our house guests! They loved it. I admittedly took some liberty and added some onions to the mix but once it came out it was PERFECT! Paired wonderfully with the (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/oven-barbecued-beef-brisket-ii/detail.aspx) Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Made this Sunday, along with a pot roast/ in place of going out to eat. The whole family loved it and said they would rather have this meal than to go out to eat! ( Of coarse, I am probably going out to eat next Sunday ... Mommas need breaks too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking4-5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainbow City, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Inirltially I was scared to try this but I'm so happy I did. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and microwaved for 3 min prior to cutting, used rosemary and tossed before putting in baking dish. I baked for 45-50 min at 350, uncovered and mixed only once half way through.My husband loved it. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chukluvr
Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I'm about to prepare this dish let's see how it comes out.. wish me luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I mixed white potatoes & sweet potatoes cut into small pieces. I also added quartered onions, bell peppers cut in medium size pieces, & whole cloves of garlic. I mixed everything in a bowl with a bit of olive oil, a rosemary & garlic spice blend, fresh ground black pepper, & a bit of salt. I roasted everything for about 35 minutes, turning occasionally. The end result was delicious served with baked tilapia, sautéed spinach & onions, and fresh garden tomatoes, garlic, & basil. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Yummy! I love sweet potatoes and this recipe is perfect exactly as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Awesome! as a sweet potato hater due to marshmallow/sugar casserole being the main recipe out there, I was hesitant to try this. Totally a convert now. I've tried this subbing the oregano with lots of other herbs so I don't get bored eating it all the time. Rosemary, thyme, marjoram, they have all come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vannaannabanana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States