Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ginger and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
Just what I was looking for! What a great way to serve sweet potatoes--all the nutrition without all the added sugar and cream many sweet recipes call for. I highly recommend this to anyone looking to break from the marshmallow or straight from the can mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2000
This is the best sweet potato recipe on the planet! Everyone raved about it at Thanksgiving, even the people who said they did not like sweet potatoes. Easy enough to make as part of an everyday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Low Fat, Relatively easy! Great presentation! Use this if you don't want to serve a bowl of sugar mixed with your yams. I was looking for this. Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I was looking for a low fat way to serve sweet potatoes and I found this recipe. WOW! You won't believe the delicious flavor. Just one thing - it took much longer to cook than it says in the recipe - about an hour (but worth the wait).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
I did modify the recipe somewhat - sliced, instead of cubing, the potatoes (1/4" - 1/2"); used ground ginger and omitted the cardamom (none on hand) - and they still came out TERRIFIC! Easiest "candied sweet potato" recipe I've ever made! "Mama Mary"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2000
Great recipe! Really simple and easy to make. I substitute vegetable oil for the walnut oil since I never have any on hand and it turns out scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I made this for Christmas and to go with the Roast Duck with Apple Dressing recipe that I also found here at allrecipes.com. Not only was this recipe excellent but it complimented the duck very nicely. I used peanut oil instead of walnut oil and ground ginger instead of the fresh and still found it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Oh, my goodness, this is the best sweet potato recipe ever! I'm not a big yam fan, but these just melt in your mouth with the warm flavor of honey and fresh ginger and a little bit of cardamon. Even picky eaters like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
My husband doesn't like Sweet Potatoes but he loves this recipe. I tripled this recipe for a family gathering and the potatoes were gone with in fifteen minutes. They are still raving about them. Cardamon makes anything great. Oh! I ran out of honey and substituted brown sugar and it still worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This one is always a big hit. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States