Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ginger and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Jackie C.
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Didn't change this recipe a bit, and it was a Thanksgiving hit! My executive chef uncle had to know the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was good and everyone liked it. It was a refreshing change from the usual Thanksgiving fare. If you're going to double the recipe, you'll also need to lengthen the time to bake it. We ended up microwaving part of it, and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very good. I made as is for thanksgiving but cut down on the ginger to everyone's advise. I guess everyone else thought they were good because they were gone. A great way to make low fat sweet potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was delicious! I used peanut oil, since I didn't have walnut (and couldn't imagine using the rest if I bought it.) Got the same general taste as candied, but with way less butter/oil. And the honey gave it a sticky/sweet/yummy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
this was very good and a nice way to do sweet potatoes, when one does not like those sickening dessert type casseroles. I am glad I read the reviews first regarding the ginger. Perhaps it was supposed to be 3 TEASPOONS? I added 3 tsp. of fresh ginger and it was nicely balanced with the cardamom; not overpowering at all. Used olive oil instead of walnut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was really good, the potatoes didn't dry out, although I definitely moved them around a bit while they were baking. The reason I'm giving it a 3 is because the ginger was too strong for just about everyone--it was too hot! But with a really reduced ginger load I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
A smash hit with the family at this year's Thanksgiving feast. I actually followed the advice of others and cut the ginger down to 1 tbs. In place of the walnut oil, I had grapeseed oil on hand and that seemed to work just as well. Other tweaks include a touch of maple syrup with the honey and a dash of cinnamon. This was an excellent replacement for the overly sweet marshmallow and brown sugar laden standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I was looking for a new twist on sweet potatoes for our Thanksgiving dinner. I think it's best not to stray too far from the classics. I put in a small amount of ginger, as suggested by other reviews. But then the cardamom was the focus of the dish, rather than the sweet potatoes. My daughter, who loves sweet potatoes, rejected this with one bite. It was a big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Three pounds. 15 guests. Gone. Used vegetable oil instead of walnut. Took about an hour instead of 40 minutes. This is worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I make this every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas. My dad and I can't get enough ginger, so this recipe is perfect for us as is. The rest of my family, however, is a little overwhelmed by its intensity, so I usually cut the ginger in half to make it a bit more universally palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States