Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ginger and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
These have a very strong ginger flavor which I loved but it had a bit too much kick for the kids. I'd replicate this for myself but cut the ginger for the babes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
served this with chicken curry and it was a total hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I really liked it- I like the flavor profile going on here. But overall at my dinner table, I can not say this was well received. Matter of opinion, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I didn't have enough sweet potatoe so added some cubed squash... made it a bit mushy...had to use olive oil.. overbaked it a bit and it still tasted Great !! Never would have thought to use cardamom .. a good choice... thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I really liked this recipe, as it was an alternative to the disgusting sweet potato casserole with the marshmallows on top. I loved the smell of the cardamom and, since I cut the amount of ginger in half as another reviewer recommended, it was a well-balanced flavor. I only gave the recipe 4 stars, because not everyone at Thanksgiving dinner liked it. For some reason, my dad kept calling it "chutney" and my brother said he liked the kind with the marshmallows better. Ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Excellent! Don't cheat on the ginger. If you appreciate this powerful aromatic herb,use as the recipe states. I was out of Walnut oil so i used Grapeseed oil and pieces of walnuts. Wonderful addition to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I loved these. I think the flavours worked really well together. The only change I made was replacing the walnut oil with coconut oil. At lot of others commented that there was too much ginger, but I didn't find this to be the case at all. Mine were done after exactly 40 minutes. Thanks for the recipe, I'll be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This was a really tasty side dish. I did substitute canola for walnut oil & ground ginger for the fresh. Just because that's what I had on-hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Great recipe for sweet potatoe and very easy also. I just subsituted the walnut oil for canola oil and the cardamon for ground nutmeg. I also cut the ginger in half. All my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I don't know WHAT I did wrong, but this didn't turn out quite the way I thought it would. The only change I made was I put in 1 tbsp ground ginger instead of the fresh ginger. I baked it according to directions, and they came out pretty burnt (I mean, the burnt carmellized version). My oven might be not working correctly. It tasted just OK even though it was burnt, but all I tasted was the ginger. Next time (and my suggestion for y'all) is LESS ginger is better! I'll be belchin' ginger for days now. (((smiling)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States