Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ginger and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
Fresh ginger from the root makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I had to modify the receipe for 15 people. My cast iron frying pan was not large enough, I used a large roasting pan which worked as well. They weren't crunchy, but the kids definately loved them. They asked for them for Christmas. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
How Yummy! One of the times I made this dish, I realized I ran out of cardamom, so I used coriander, which worked just as well. Sprinkle with some chopped roasted almonds for an added texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
I have relatives from around the country who are calling to make sure this is on the menu for this Thanksgiving. They all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
All my guest raved about this and said that it was not only a great flavor, but went perfectly with the pork tenderloin with apricots and cranberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Exactly what I wanted! Not too sweet like the marshmallow ones and not mashed. It was all gone. I actually sliced and baked in a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
I used nutmeg instead of cardamom, still tasted great! I added lots of honey as well, for sweetness. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This recipe got my attention last Thanksgiving, and will be definitely be served again this year. Even my parents, who generally avoid any unusual dish, raved about these sweet potatoes. I would advise anyone thinking of making this dish to gauge their own tolerance for ginger and cardamom and adjust the recipe amounts to taste - this recipe allows for quite a bit of personalization. I also agree with other reviewers: nutmeg is essential, as is fresh grated (not ground) ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Ooooooooooohhhhh! If it has cardamom in it, chances are I'll be a fan, but these were fantastic! Definitely not your typical marshmallowy-cinnamony sweet potatoes, but not so over-the-top exotic that they can't be served at Thanksgiving or Christmas. They have a little bit of a kick, and while my dad and I can't get enough ginger, I usually cut it in half for the people in my family with more conservative palates. I make these for every big holiday get-together, and they're always a hit. It does take longer than 40 minutes to cook, though. Sometimes—if I can find them—I'll toss in some Okinawan sweet potatoes along with the regular ones (they're deep purple and have a mild chestnut flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Wow. I finally got up the courage to bring a dish to my in-laws Easter dinner, and this was the best choice I could have made. It was such a surprising recipe: sweet, tangy, aromatic. At my husband's request, I cut back on the cardamom, but I think I would have been happy with the full amount. I didn't have walnut oil, but canola ended up working just fine. After baking, I mashed up the potatoes and transfered to a nice casserol dish. As a final touch, I spooned a generous amount of the left-over honey mixture (from the bottom of the baking pan) over the potatoes. It looked, smelled, and tasted divine. This is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States