Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ginger and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
this was delicious even after I substituted the fresh ginger with the bottled. I didn't have any walnut oil, so I used regular oil but sauteed some walnuts in the oil until they were brown. I then added the honey and the powdered spices (plus the pepper) and poured that all over the cut up sweet potatoes. The time in the oven as stated by the recipe was perfect. LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ileana Vila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I'm not sure if I got the recipe off here but I think so... at any rate this is the same recipe I use. It has become a big favourite at all holiday meals (esp. Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter) and extended family specifically request. I use a casserole dish as well and I find that they will caramelize if they are in a thin layer across the bottom - use a wider dish/pan or make less to do this. These are truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delburne, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
All my guest raved about this and said that it was not only a great flavor, but went perfectly with the pork tenderloin with apricots and cranberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I couldn't get this to caramelize. Could've been my technique, as I'm a genuine novice to cooking from scratch. However, I may adapt the recipe and instead mash the potatoes, baking it as a casserole, perhaps with some brown sugar and crushed pecans on top. I do so love the cardamom, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Ooooooooooohhhhh! If it has cardamom in it, chances are I'll be a fan, but these were fantastic! Definitely not your typical marshmallowy-cinnamony sweet potatoes, but not so over-the-top exotic that they can't be served at Thanksgiving or Christmas. They have a little bit of a kick, and while my dad and I can't get enough ginger, I usually cut it in half for the people in my family with more conservative palates. I make these for every big holiday get-together, and they're always a hit. It does take longer than 40 minutes to cook, though. Sometimes—if I can find them—I'll toss in some Okinawan sweet potatoes along with the regular ones (they're deep purple and have a mild chestnut flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Wow. I finally got up the courage to bring a dish to my in-laws Easter dinner, and this was the best choice I could have made. It was such a surprising recipe: sweet, tangy, aromatic. At my husband's request, I cut back on the cardamom, but I think I would have been happy with the full amount. I didn't have walnut oil, but canola ended up working just fine. After baking, I mashed up the potatoes and transfered to a nice casserol dish. As a final touch, I spooned a generous amount of the left-over honey mixture (from the bottom of the baking pan) over the potatoes. It looked, smelled, and tasted divine. This is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I really loved the flavours of these sweet potatoes...for one thing they were not overly sweet! Not sure why but they did not carmelize for me?! I did parboil 1st to cut down on cooking time in the oven. While my turkey rested on the counter these cooked in the oven! I will make them again and see if I can get them to carmelize!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This was good. I added a little less cardomon and about half the ginger. I also added a little bit of salt. Overall, it was good and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This recipe got my attention last Thanksgiving, and will be definitely be served again this year. Even my parents, who generally avoid any unusual dish, raved about these sweet potatoes. I would advise anyone thinking of making this dish to gauge their own tolerance for ginger and cardamom and adjust the recipe amounts to taste - this recipe allows for quite a bit of personalization. I also agree with other reviewers: nutmeg is essential, as is fresh grated (not ground) ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This is a great holiday dish. Not to sweet either. I would recommend parboiling the potato's and cutting back on the ginger in half and cardomom too. It can be a bit overwhelming. Overall it is an excellent combination of flavors and a nice change from the usual brown sugar and marshmallow ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States