Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ginger and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
Using honey is a great idea for sweet potatoes and we liked that. The only problem was the cardimon and ginger were a little overwhelming. The kids did not like it. In the future we would omit the cardimon and go easier on the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I think the key to this recipe is knowing your own tastes. (After reading the reviews) I used maybe 1 T. ginger and 1/2 t cardamom. It was very tasty but I expected there to be a bit more caramelization. Everyone liked it and it was not sickly sweet like marshmallow versions of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This recipe got my attention last Thanksgiving, and will be definitely be served again this year. Even my parents, who generally avoid any unusual dish, raved about these sweet potatoes. I would advise anyone thinking of making this dish to gauge their own tolerance for ginger and cardamom and adjust the recipe amounts to taste - this recipe allows for quite a bit of personalization. I also agree with other reviewers: nutmeg is essential, as is fresh grated (not ground) ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Exactly what I wanted! Not too sweet like the marshmallow ones and not mashed. It was all gone. I actually sliced and baked in a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
I used nutmeg instead of cardamom, still tasted great! I added lots of honey as well, for sweetness. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
Fresh ginger from the root makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I had to modify the receipe for 15 people. My cast iron frying pan was not large enough, I used a large roasting pan which worked as well. They weren't crunchy, but the kids definately loved them. They asked for them for Christmas. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This is a great holiday dish. Not to sweet either. I would recommend parboiling the potato's and cutting back on the ginger in half and cardomom too. It can be a bit overwhelming. Overall it is an excellent combination of flavors and a nice change from the usual brown sugar and marshmallow ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This recipe calls for WAY too many sweet potatoes. I used 6 and still found it to be a lot. The potatoes should be boiled first to remove the skins and help with the cooking time. I did this and THEN baked for the allotted time and they were JUST cooked. Tasty dish though. The honey makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
I have relatives from around the country who are calling to make sure this is on the menu for this Thanksgiving. They all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States