Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ginger and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These are not bad. I got mine to caramelize, but I had to leave them in the oven a lot longer than stated in order to do that. I also only used 4 sweet potatoes--it's just the two of us, so 9 is a bit of overkill. Very good, though, nice flavor. I agree wtih others--use the amounts you think you can handle of the spices adn you'll be fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
We really enjoyed this recipe. Love cardamon and it goes so well with Sweet potatoes. Took exactly 40 minutes in the oven - I cut the recipe back to 1 sweet potato for two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was a HUGE hit! I cut rounds and baked it in a casserole dish, which required cooking it about 15 min longer than stated for the sweet potatoes to be really tender the the juices to caramelize. I cut back the ginger and the cardamom by 1/3 because of other reviews, but when I make it again, and I will, I'll put the full amount in. A wonderful recipe and a great way to get away from that awful pile of goo that we were all raised on. Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made these for thanksgiving this year, and while they were ok, the ginger really overpowered the delicate flavor of the sweet potatoes and cardamon. I will try them again, but will cut the ginger at least in half, and maybe up the cardamon a little. Something to start with, and much healthier than the standard candied sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Substitute ground coriander for the cardamom if you like a more subtle flavor. A shot of lemon juice right before serving is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gorgeousred

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I actually didn't follow the recipe perfectly because I messed up. But hey, thats okay, because it turned out great! I sliced my sweet potatoes, used golden instead of ruby (or actual sweet potatoes instead of yams). Eyeballed the ginger and used only 1/4 tsp cardamom and as per other user suggestion 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I also used olive oil instead of walnut as that's what I had. Added about 1 tsp each of lemon juice and white wine. I boiled the potato rounds for about 7 minutes then coated them in the glaze mixture and broiled until browned. Tasted good enough to make again. Served with roasted boneless leg of lamb and a salad of organic baby greens with herbs, gorgonzola, craisins, apple dices and a garlic vinegarette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Very tasty sweet potato variation. I think I may use this as my sew holiday standard. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I like this recipe. It's not as sweet as the typical brown sugar sweet potatoe recipes out there. I did end up using less ginger and cardamom, since I was serving the dish to some less adventerous eaters for Thanksgiving. I could not get this to camelize, but I did not use a cast iron skillet. I had them in a glass baking dish. I think 9 sweet potatoes would have been too many. I had very large sweet potatoes and 5 of those yielded 9 cups cut up, so I stuck to that quantity. I am going to try this again, but perhaps use a larger baking dish to see if I can get the carmelization to happen. I was very pleased with the flavors though. I would recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Love it exactly as written. Sweet, tangy, healthy, and pretty on the plate. I cut the potatoes small so the ginger slightly overwhelms the potato taste, but as a ginger fan, I don't mind. This dish gets raves every year. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Family loved this, I've never really cared for the overly sweet glazed sweet potatoes with marshmallows and was happy to find this recipe. From now on this will definitely be on our Thanksgiving menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States