Baked Sweet Potato Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I eat sweet potato fries at my favourite restaurant all the time, and while these didn't taste bad, they were not the same as a french fry - so if that's what you're expecting, you probably won't get it with this dish. I used only two sweet potatoes because there were only two of us, and I used about 2 tbsp of olive oil, salt and pepper (no paprika). I baked them at 400F, but they were done long before the 40 minute suggested time; it only took about 20 minutes to cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
The best way to eat sweet potatoes! You can use any spices you like. I usually cut mine into slices as opposed to sticks and I also toss them in a ziploc bag to coat with oil and spices. Easy, healthy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
One word. . .WOW! I have never like sweet potatoes, but my husband and I decided that today, October 1st, we are gonna start working out and eating healthier. So, today, for our first "healthy" meal, I decided to make baked battered fish with sweet potato fries and collard greens. Wow! I didn't think I would like them, but OMG, they were awesome! I actually added a little more to the seasoning in the recipe; garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, salt and pepper. I will definitely be using this recipe again and recommending it to my friends. Who says eating healthy has to taste bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
We liked them better when the sticks were cut thinner. They had a better flavor. We also cut up a regular baking potato and cooked it with the sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Ive tried this recipe before but instead we sprinkled cinnamon sugar on the fries just when you take them out of the oven while they are still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This was very good and very easy. They do taste better at room temperature as Christine L said. I followed others suggestions and 1) added 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp salt and 1 Tbls brown sugar for 4 average size potatoes. However, when I added all these additional seasonings, I found it too pasty so I added an additional Tbs of olive oil....worked out perfectly. 2) I cut the potatoes in 1/4 inch rounds using my food processor. I too found that they cooked in about 20 minutes. Thank you for this recipe and thank you fellow reviewers for all your suggestions!!! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I love these. I cut my potatoes into much smaller slices than one quarter, more the size of regular french fries. Because they were smaller, it took them only 20 minutes to bake. One large sweet potato was enough for two people (as a side dish). Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
These are great,only I use cajan seasoning and I also cut them into sticks. I put everything in a zip lock bag and rub around to coat evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Really yummy and so much better for you than white potatoes. I like to add additional spices as other reviewers have suggested. I use cinnamon sugar on them when I'm serving pork chops. Add a green veggie and baked apples and you've got a delicious, easy autumn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Cutting the sticks thinner definitely helps. These were delicious! We dipped them in ranch dressing when served, and kept whatever was leftover...they're even better cold the next day! Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States