Baked Sweet Potato Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Katy
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was fabulous! I did a few modifications to speed it up and make it to our taste. We'll definitely be making this again! Modifications: thinly sliced; microwaved for 3 minutes; brushed with olive oil, paprika, salt, pepper & a touch of cinnamon sugar; baked on broiling pan 30 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I have been baking Sweet Potato Fries for a number of years ever since we tried regular Sweet Potato Fries at a weekend type of Farmer's Market. They were served with a dallop of honey butter. A spoonful of honey butter on each serving makes this a real treat. To make honey butter just mix two or three tablespoons of honey into a half cup of soft butter. Do not melt the butter, just serve it at room temperature with the hot fries. You could add some cinnamon but we like it plain. Yum. Kids of all ages love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I made this tonight with pre-cut sweet potato sticks. I not only used paprika, but I also used Johnny's seasoning salt, garlic powder, a little ground red pepper and black pepper. I served it with the Secret Burger Sauce from this site and homemade ranch dressing. I'll have to remember to coat the pan next time so they don't stick. Kids ate them up. They especially liked that they were a pretty orange color, not like the normal oven fries I make. We all liked them, just with more seasoning. I'll be sure to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Very simple and quick fix if you feel like having healthy fries! You can really use a variety of spices to flavor them differently. I used some cajun spice mix and it was delicious. Also, I cut my sweet potatoes about McDonald's size and baking for 40 mins turned out being too long for them (they were burnt). Perhaps 30 mins for thinner strips would do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Good basic recipe. I also sprinkled with salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
My toddler loved them so this recipe gets 5 stars in my book!! I do agree with every other reviewer - the thinner the stick the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
These are one of my most favorite items to eat and they are soooo easy! I cut them thinner also - even my 10 yr old son loves them! This is a quick, easy, foolproof recipe (even though it takes a while to cook!) A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pris
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Usually don't like sweet potatoes. It came out great. Did not flip them halfway through because I like the burnt sides. Couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pris

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Great recipe! I cut the potatoes thinner and added olive oil, salt, pepper and fresh rosemary. I also kept in the oven a little over 40 minutes because we like it better when is crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I cut up smaller pieces as others had suggested. I am not wild about this recipe. I thought I liked sweet potato, but apparently not. It would be nice if they were a little crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States