Baked Sweet Potato Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I peeled them and microwaved them for 5 minutes (so it was easier to cut them into strips). I sliced them and put them in a plastic bag with olive oil, brown sugar and cinnamon. Baked them for 30 minutes at 425 degrees (that was the temp I needed for my fish sticks). They worked out great, but I would choose a different seasoning. Maybe I should go with the recipe and use the paprika!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Made mine shoe-string and followed the recipe. I think the paprika was wonderful, though I did add some salt after trying them. For those saying they aren't crisp, just accept that they won't be. Nor is there anything in the recipe that says they will be, so please don't knock the recipe for that. These aren't fried they are baked. I baked mine on a wire rack and they still didn't crisp up. Fact is you have to fry them to get them crunchy. But though they aren't crunchy, they are very tasty. Surprisingly, even with them cut as shoe-strings, they took over 25 minutes to cook, so keep your timing in mind. Anyway, thanks for a great recipe. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caraszone
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This recipe was the basic idea of what I wanted so I took recommendations from other reviewers. I did not want to eat the skin so I peeled and thinly sliced 1 large Yam, more than enough for 2 people. I also used a plastic bag to shake the ingredients. You can use your own preferred spices. I copied another reviewer who used cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and brown sugar. Don't forget the olive oil. I was light on the olive oil and mine were a little dry. I think a good coating will help with that next time. Since I cut mine thin, I reduced the cooking time down to 20 min. which I found to be a definite time saver. They probably could have been checked at 15 min. Since yams are so good for you and my boyfriend liked them I will be making them again. I may alter it and try new spices just to see what I'm missing. Like garlic and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Very good! I peeled the potatoes and added cajun seasoning. Definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I think they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
So EASY! Not only do these taste wonderful, but so they are so much healthier (tastier too) the traditional deep fried potatoe style french fries. The kids even love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Eat them hot, cold, or at room temperature... they are good either way... but then again I love sweet potatoes... like other reviews I experimented with other spices... the classic cinnamon and brown sugar was good... so was garlic salt... and paprika was good.... I guess what ever flavor you want to go for give it a try... I put the sticks in a zip-lock bag with the oil and tossed to coat then sprinkled the seasoning over the top... experiment with this one to find what you like if your not a fan of paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
So easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Was really excited about this recipe as a great way to get my toddler to eat this super food, however they just didn't turn out well. They were really soft when I expected them to be at least a little crisp. The taste was okay, but I'd rather just make baked sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States