Baked Sweet Potato Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I also make baked sweet potato fries regularly. I use the ziploc bag method as well. To cut fat, I use a few sprays of butter and/or Canola Oil spray and usually spice with garlic powder, onion powder, fresh ground black pepper and a sprinkle of shredded asiago cheese. I'm not a big fan of adding salt, but that's person preference. Most recently I've added a sprinkle of fennel seeds to the mix...adds a nice, unexpected flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
The paprika gave this a really great sweet flavor. I think my "sticks" were a little too Texas-sized (ie big) and didn't crisp enough as a result.. so next time I'll probably cut them down a little slimmer.. I also added a dash of kosher salt to these - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
My family loves these. I also instead of paprika use either seasoning salt OR c cajun seasoning...but NOT both. These are great !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I found this recipe a couple of years ago when I discovered that I love sweet potatoes and I now make this all the time. I love how you can customize it for whatever spices you prefer, personally I use a little rosemary and salt, but they taste great with onion powder and garlic too. I prefer to either cut them into thin wedges or discs rather than the sticks, so they get a little crunchier. I also usually put the heat a little lower, at 375, and then cook for about 50 minutes unless I cut them really thin in which case you can usually eyeball them and tell when they're getting crunchy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Loved em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These were good, but never got crispy. I did bake mine on a cooling rack on a cookie sheet, so maybe that was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I have found this to be the only way I like to eat sweet potatoes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a Crafty Stitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Also try this with yams! Any random variation of spices to suit your taste will do. I made a dip from vegenaise mixed with some garlic, rosemary, thyme and some other random spices. EPIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintmojo13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I love sweet potato fries! Last minute switched on the broiler for crispness. Topped with a little sea salt and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
good - but not sure about the room temp note, going to try hot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States