Baked Sweet Potato Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Yummy - these are delicious! I didn't do it right - I way overcrowded my pan and cut them to skinny but they were still yummy! Next time I'll try to make more of a wedge shape and use less so they won't overlap on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Allison
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I made a few changes so I'm not sure I should even be rating it! I used one sweet potato cut in small pieces, lots of garlic salt and chili powder (about 1 tsp each), and cooking spray. I shook all the ingredients together in a bag and then baked as directed. Tasted awesome - crispy outsides, soft insides! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This recipe is super easy and the potatoes come out so great. They are slightly crunchy on outside but have a roasted consistency on the inside. I made them twice in one week. My 12 year old son said they were delicious. I usually buy Chipotle Sweet potato fries from the frozen section for 3.99 but I save half that amount by buying my own sweet potatoes. These were equally delicious. In addition to the paprika I used Mccormick cajun seasoning and some sea salt along along with the olive oil. I cut into wedges as suggested in the recipe. The second time I made, I just sliced to to keep them circular. I love the flexibility of this recipe and the nutritional value (olive oil and vitamin packed sw. pot.). Pretty much you can go spicy or sweet and still yield a delicious result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhillyGirl1908

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Thought these were really good ...and my kids loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
These were.... okay. Just ho hum. Granted, it was my first time having any sweet potatoes at all, so I don't have a base line to judge from. I found I did like the vegetable, but this was a little bland. I added some generic seasoning blend and it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: South Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Awesome! I never thought to add paprika to them, although I couldn't really taste it. But nontheless they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These were a hit! I cut into small strips, but think they need to match sticks. They didn't get crisp all they way. They are more of a crispy, deliciousness with a bit of softness. Here is what I did: olive oil, garlic powder, onion powder, minced ginger (from a jar) minced galic (from jar), S&P; put it all in a ziplock bag and mixed. I turned them several times, and took them out as they started to blacken on the ends. I served them room temp. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I also make baked sweet potato fries regularly. I use the ziploc bag method as well. To cut fat, I use a few sprays of butter and/or Canola Oil spray and usually spice with garlic powder, onion powder, fresh ground black pepper and a sprinkle of shredded asiago cheese. I'm not a big fan of adding salt, but that's person preference. Most recently I've added a sprinkle of fennel seeds to the mix...adds a nice, unexpected flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
The paprika gave this a really great sweet flavor. I think my "sticks" were a little too Texas-sized (ie big) and didn't crisp enough as a result.. so next time I'll probably cut them down a little slimmer.. I also added a dash of kosher salt to these - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
My family loves these. I also instead of paprika use either seasoning salt OR c cajun seasoning...but NOT both. These are great !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States