Baked Sweet Potato Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Delicious! Only thing I did different was add nutmeg and cinnamon...couldn't get enough even my 7yr old begged for more...ended up making them two days in a row...THANKS FOR SHARING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I made these today and they were awesome. The reason it gets a 4 star is because the recipe wouldn't be great without modifications. I added garlic powder, salt and pepper in addition to the paprika and oil. I baked at 350 for 50 minutes and they were nice and soft. If you'd like them a bit crunchier on the outside I would suggest baking at 400 for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I've made this recipe 4 times. 1st time I read the reviews, but followed the recipe exactly--except I cut the S.P. in rounds rather than wedges. Loved the S.P., but the paprika seasoning was not to my taste. I then tried: 1.cinnamon and brown sugar 2.Cajun and lastly, 3.curry powder. The curry is my favorite. As previously stated, these are not crunchy. It does not matter--they are delicious! Find your favorite spice to add with the oil, and you will love these! I'm making a big batch for a get together, and made raita for those who may want a creamy dollop on top to compliment the curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Bake them until they are well done - a bit crunchy was not as good as the smaller ones that were well done and very soft. These are a fine product, but I will just boil and serve in future, no need to bother with baking the sweet potatoes, unless the oven is already on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
A big hit with everyone in the house, and that's saying something. My teen would have preferred them fried, but they are so much healthier this way that I wouldn't change a thing. I used two BIG potatoes and cut them in sixths or smaller. I left one unpeeled and used paprika, adding garlic salt and rosemary per others' suggestions. The other potato I peeled (then had to use quickly, as it seemed to want to turn brown), and used brown sugar and a little garlic salt. Some of my family preferred them this way, although I liked the savory ones better. Microwaving them about 3 minutes before slicing made them easier to slice but a bit messy in a couple of places due to being too soft to handle well...will probably skip this next time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Any tasty way I can put sweet potato in my diet is alright with me and this recipe does it. I found it hard to cut lenghtwise so I cut the potato smaller squares hey whatever works....simply easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I peeled them and microwaved them for 5 minutes (so it was easier to cut them into strips). I sliced them and put them in a plastic bag with olive oil, brown sugar and cinnamon. Baked them for 30 minutes at 425 degrees (that was the temp I needed for my fish sticks). They worked out great, but I would choose a different seasoning. Maybe I should go with the recipe and use the paprika!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Made mine shoe-string and followed the recipe. I think the paprika was wonderful, though I did add some salt after trying them. For those saying they aren't crisp, just accept that they won't be. Nor is there anything in the recipe that says they will be, so please don't knock the recipe for that. These aren't fried they are baked. I baked mine on a wire rack and they still didn't crisp up. Fact is you have to fry them to get them crunchy. But though they aren't crunchy, they are very tasty. Surprisingly, even with them cut as shoe-strings, they took over 25 minutes to cook, so keep your timing in mind. Anyway, thanks for a great recipe. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caraszone
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This recipe was the basic idea of what I wanted so I took recommendations from other reviewers. I did not want to eat the skin so I peeled and thinly sliced 1 large Yam, more than enough for 2 people. I also used a plastic bag to shake the ingredients. You can use your own preferred spices. I copied another reviewer who used cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and brown sugar. Don't forget the olive oil. I was light on the olive oil and mine were a little dry. I think a good coating will help with that next time. Since I cut mine thin, I reduced the cooking time down to 20 min. which I found to be a definite time saver. They probably could have been checked at 15 min. Since yams are so good for you and my boyfriend liked them I will be making them again. I may alter it and try new spices just to see what I'm missing. Like garlic and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States