Baked Stuffed Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I tried out this recipe a couple of years ago for the first time. It's been a request from the family every year since! It goes great when warm with a side of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made 2 of these this weekend to take to 2 parties. The amounts that this recipe calls for filled 2 medium sugar pumpkins, with about 1.5 cups left over. I forgot to add the raisins, and purposely omitted the rum. I also used crushed pineapple instead of chunks, and added about 1-2 Tbsp of tapioca to thicken it. I had to bake mine for about 3 hours at 350 to thoroughly cook the pumpkin. I served them as-is (not as a topping for anything). Also, I used only about 1/4 c brown sugar. I coated the inside of both pumpkins, then mixed the rest into the filling mixture. I decreased the spices as well. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Looks great but hard to serve, wastes a lot of pumpkin, ginger is too strong, pineapple chunks are too large to blend well, and makes too much to fit in the pumpkin. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe, not only does it taste fantastic but makes a beutiful center piece for your Thanksgiving or Fall table
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was my first baked pumpkin and it turned out really well. I made a few changes: I: 1) skipped the brown sugar because I (correctly) thought the dried fruit would add enough sweetness, 2) used homemade cranberry sauce, which, again, is less sweet, 3) added some dried cranberries, 4) forgot to buy fresh ginger, so I added a few finely chopped pieces of crystallized ginger, instead. I had some extra mixture, so I added it to the "Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This was the coolest thing. It was a little sweet for me so I think next time I will cut out the sugar and add real cranberries to have their tang offset it. I'm also an impatient baker and don't measure spices, but next time will make sure to! I over seasoned it a little and it was definitely over powering. All in all, this dish was awesome and I'm looking forward to Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
It has way too much nutmeg and all around just didnt work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Saben

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was delicious! I loved it. The spices were great, and it was so fun and festive to serve it in a pumpkin. People are impressed by the presentation, but the flavor was great also. I left mine in the oven quite a bit longer than suggested, but I am sure it just depends on the pumpkin so you have to check it. Seems like it would be hard to overdo it though. The only problem I had was that when I was trying to scrape some of the pumkin into the mixture when it was finished I ended up with big pieces of pumpkin in there and it was hard to cut it up while mixing it. Delicious and fun recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Very tasty, i suggest to add some sugar in the final stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was awesome! It was a tasty addition to our ham - the perfect spices. The presentation was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States