Baked Stuffed Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made 2 of these this weekend to take to 2 parties. The amounts that this recipe calls for filled 2 medium sugar pumpkins, with about 1.5 cups left over. I forgot to add the raisins, and purposely omitted the rum. I also used crushed pineapple instead of chunks, and added about 1-2 Tbsp of tapioca to thicken it. I had to bake mine for about 3 hours at 350 to thoroughly cook the pumpkin. I served them as-is (not as a topping for anything). Also, I used only about 1/4 c brown sugar. I coated the inside of both pumpkins, then mixed the rest into the filling mixture. I decreased the spices as well. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Looks great but hard to serve, wastes a lot of pumpkin, ginger is too strong, pineapple chunks are too large to blend well, and makes too much to fit in the pumpkin. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe, not only does it taste fantastic but makes a beutiful center piece for your Thanksgiving or Fall table
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was my first baked pumpkin and it turned out really well. I made a few changes: I: 1) skipped the brown sugar because I (correctly) thought the dried fruit would add enough sweetness, 2) used homemade cranberry sauce, which, again, is less sweet, 3) added some dried cranberries, 4) forgot to buy fresh ginger, so I added a few finely chopped pieces of crystallized ginger, instead. I had some extra mixture, so I added it to the "Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This was the coolest thing. It was a little sweet for me so I think next time I will cut out the sugar and add real cranberries to have their tang offset it. I'm also an impatient baker and don't measure spices, but next time will make sure to! I over seasoned it a little and it was definitely over powering. All in all, this dish was awesome and I'm looking forward to Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
It has way too much nutmeg and all around just didnt work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Saben

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was delicious! I loved it. The spices were great, and it was so fun and festive to serve it in a pumpkin. People are impressed by the presentation, but the flavor was great also. I left mine in the oven quite a bit longer than suggested, but I am sure it just depends on the pumpkin so you have to check it. Seems like it would be hard to overdo it though. The only problem I had was that when I was trying to scrape some of the pumkin into the mixture when it was finished I ended up with big pieces of pumpkin in there and it was hard to cut it up while mixing it. Delicious and fun recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Very tasty, i suggest to add some sugar in the final stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was awesome! It was a tasty addition to our ham - the perfect spices. The presentation was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Photo by rua
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I don't know how big your pumpkins are, but the amount of filling I made (exactly as the recipe says) made twice as much as would fit in the pumpkin. :) I also found that 1 hour wasn't long enough for the pumpkin to be soft enough to mix through. Saying that, I'll definitely be making this again (using the other unused half of the filling that I stuck in the freezer), but will try baking for 1.5 hours or longer. Flavours are delicious! It's definitely a keeper. I served this with Turkey Loaf and some rice, and it was thoroughly enjoyed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States