Baked Stuffed Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I made four of these little gems last night. I did not add the additional sugar to any of the four apples and I used dried blueberries only because I didn't have any dried cranberries. I used Pinata apples which are very sweet on their own, baking them only made them sweeter which made me glad I didn't add the sugar. The only person who did not like this dessert was my husband. The kids and I REALLY liked ours. Great low-calorie dessert that was simple to make with on hand ingredients. I'm SO making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Mmmmm! Delicious these are wonderful and are good to serve to your guests when they come over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pandaz12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosebud, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
what a wonderful way to turn an autumn fruit into a rich dessert. the baked cream cheese filling is a marvelous idea, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Kellebrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I used Braeburn apples as well but changed up the filling a bit. I used golden raisins and candied pecans instead of the cranberries. I used a bit of hard pear cider in the pan for liquid (didn't have apple juice) Next time I plan on making a carmel sauce to spoon over. Made it for company and they LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Just made this. It was delicious! This is a real keeper!! I used Splenda brown sugar and fat free cream cheese to lighten it up. Since I don't like the texture of cream cheese, I threw in about 2 T of oatmeal. It was perfect. My husband gave it a "10".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was a delicious treat! I used brown sugar instead of nutmeg and half mayo half cream cheese for the filling. I found, like some other reviewers, that I had quite a bit of the sugar mixture at the end.. maybe because I was using small apples? Next time I'll cut back on those measurements, but I will definitely be making this again.. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this at the last minute for our late Sunday afternoon lunch. I used two small softball sized Fuji apples. I followed the recipe exactly except I halved the sugar mixture (didn't sprinkle the inside of the apples or the top of the cream cheese mixture) and I eyeballed the amount of cream cheese. We really enjoyed this baked apple. Next time I will score the apple peel because it broke and peeled away anyway. I will also add some finely chopped nuts next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was a nice dessert. I omitted the cranberries this time, I might try them sometime in the future. I used honeycrisp apples and they held together nicely but were still tender. I also used cream cheese with 1/3 less fat and think it would have been better with regular cream cheese, but that was my fault, not because of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I decided to try to ease my husband into eating warm or cooked fruit (he's a strange one: no hot pie a la mode, no pineapple upside down cake, etc.) by pairing it with his weakness: cheesecake. It worked! We loved the combination of creamy filling and warm apples. I only with the filling was more like cheesecake, to me it was just a flavored cream cheese. I'll toy with it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Scoring the peel roun the apple's equator keeps it's shape when cooked. Jim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States