Baked Stuffed Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I made four of these little gems last night. I did not add the additional sugar to any of the four apples and I used dried blueberries only because I didn't have any dried cranberries. I used Pinata apples which are very sweet on their own, baking them only made them sweeter which made me glad I didn't add the sugar. The only person who did not like this dessert was my husband. The kids and I REALLY liked ours. Great low-calorie dessert that was simple to make with on hand ingredients. I'm SO making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I love baked apples and this looked pretty simple so I had to give this a try and I'm glad I did. I cut back on the sugar a bit and used brown instead of white. You could easily sub raisins for the cranberries or add some nuts if you like. These smelled very good and once they came out of the oven I drizzled them with a little caramel sauce. Perfect with vanilla ice cream and a bit of whipped cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Well I was in the mood for a fall desert and needed something to keep the kids busy tonight while dinner was cooking. I am not a big fan of baked apples unless they are very sweet, so I came across this recipe and liked the combination of Cranberries and apples. I made a couple changes. First being that I made it for 3 apples instead of just 1, so I tripled all ingredients. I have no nutmeg, so I substituted 1 tsp. of dark brown sugar to make the apple sweeter. I also had no dried cranberries on hand, so I used a Tlbsp. of canned cranberries. Everything else I followed, including cooking times. The family LOVED these. They were perfectly sweet topped with some cool whip and some of the extra sugar mixture on top to make it look pretty. I am going to try some oats on top or graham cracker crumbs to give it a different texture, because I am a huge fan of apple crisp. All in all, this is an EXTREMELY simple and delicious dish that can be thrown together quickly, and is something the kids can help with. It cooked while we ate dinner. Just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I loved this recipe, and will definitely be using it again. I used Honeycrisp apples, which are large and very light of texture, and they bake beautifully. A couple of other reviewers mentioned texture problems with the filling; I did not have that problem. The filling was creamy, rich, and oozed deliciously over the tender apple flesh; broken open with a spoon. Next time, I may hollow out a slightly larger cavity in the apple, sacrificing a little bit of apple flesh to have more room for filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcranepyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Just made this. It was delicious! This is a real keeper!! I used Splenda brown sugar and fat free cream cheese to lighten it up. Since I don't like the texture of cream cheese, I threw in about 2 T of oatmeal. It was perfect. My husband gave it a "10".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Scoring the peel roun the apple's equator keeps it's shape when cooked. Jim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I used Splenda and Raisins, and I added a tiny bit of flax. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Mmmmm! Delicious these are wonderful and are good to serve to your guests when they come over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pandaz12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosebud, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This is not the prettiest dessert, but it tastes very good! I followed the directions exactly. The only difference was that after adding half of the sugar mixture to the cream cheese, there was really more left than I needed. Even after sprinkling some in the cavity and some on top, I still had some left over. Mine did collapse a bit during baking (35 min). All in all, this was a tasty treat. I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was a delicious treat! I used brown sugar instead of nutmeg and half mayo half cream cheese for the filling. I found, like some other reviewers, that I had quite a bit of the sugar mixture at the end.. maybe because I was using small apples? Next time I'll cut back on those measurements, but I will definitely be making this again.. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States