Baked Stuffed Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this at the last minute for our late Sunday afternoon lunch. I used two small softball sized Fuji apples. I followed the recipe exactly except I halved the sugar mixture (didn't sprinkle the inside of the apples or the top of the cream cheese mixture) and I eyeballed the amount of cream cheese. We really enjoyed this baked apple. Next time I will score the apple peel because it broke and peeled away anyway. I will also add some finely chopped nuts next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was a nice dessert. I omitted the cranberries this time, I might try them sometime in the future. I used honeycrisp apples and they held together nicely but were still tender. I also used cream cheese with 1/3 less fat and think it would have been better with regular cream cheese, but that was my fault, not because of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I made four of these little gems last night. I did not add the additional sugar to any of the four apples and I used dried blueberries only because I didn't have any dried cranberries. I used Pinata apples which are very sweet on their own, baking them only made them sweeter which made me glad I didn't add the sugar. The only person who did not like this dessert was my husband. The kids and I REALLY liked ours. Great low-calorie dessert that was simple to make with on hand ingredients. I'm SO making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I love baked apples and this looked pretty simple so I had to give this a try and I'm glad I did. I cut back on the sugar a bit and used brown instead of white. You could easily sub raisins for the cranberries or add some nuts if you like. These smelled very good and once they came out of the oven I drizzled them with a little caramel sauce. Perfect with vanilla ice cream and a bit of whipped cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Scoring the peel roun the apple's equator keeps it's shape when cooked. Jim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I decided to try to ease my husband into eating warm or cooked fruit (he's a strange one: no hot pie a la mode, no pineapple upside down cake, etc.) by pairing it with his weakness: cheesecake. It worked! We loved the combination of creamy filling and warm apples. I only with the filling was more like cheesecake, to me it was just a flavored cream cheese. I'll toy with it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was a delicious treat! I used brown sugar instead of nutmeg and half mayo half cream cheese for the filling. I found, like some other reviewers, that I had quite a bit of the sugar mixture at the end.. maybe because I was using small apples? Next time I'll cut back on those measurements, but I will definitely be making this again.. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Well I was in the mood for a fall desert and needed something to keep the kids busy tonight while dinner was cooking. I am not a big fan of baked apples unless they are very sweet, so I came across this recipe and liked the combination of Cranberries and apples. I made a couple changes. First being that I made it for 3 apples instead of just 1, so I tripled all ingredients. I have no nutmeg, so I substituted 1 tsp. of dark brown sugar to make the apple sweeter. I also had no dried cranberries on hand, so I used a Tlbsp. of canned cranberries. Everything else I followed, including cooking times. The family LOVED these. They were perfectly sweet topped with some cool whip and some of the extra sugar mixture on top to make it look pretty. I am going to try some oats on top or graham cracker crumbs to give it a different texture, because I am a huge fan of apple crisp. All in all, this is an EXTREMELY simple and delicious dish that can be thrown together quickly, and is something the kids can help with. It cooked while we ate dinner. Just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I used Splenda and Raisins, and I added a tiny bit of flax. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I used a rather large apple and the stuffing didn't come close to filling it. The flavor was just ok. I did use weight watchers cream cheese and raisins so maybe that made a difference. It was also hard to eat- having to cut it up and try to get bites with stuff on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States