Baked Squash and Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Very good side dish for autumn meals. I baked the squash for 90 minutes and didn't add any chicken stock and the consistency was good. The only other thing I will change when I make this again is to use less onion; it competed with the squash for the dominant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
So easy, and the kids ate it up. Beautiful blend of flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is a delicious recipe, was very well received on Thanksgiving, and so much easier than my previous squash recipe that required the squash to be peeled and cubed. I used large butternut squash and found that they needed to bake for at least 90 minutes before they were very tender. I read the reviews about it being a bit too soupy, so I added just enough chicken broth and maple syrup to puree the squash and it came out perfectly. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Followed recipe exactly. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Tasty enough recipe, really runny though! Practically a soup. And hey hey now, "uniquely American"!?!!? Don't forget about your trusty norther neighbors!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forbidden Fruit Cocktail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I couldn't get the mixture smooth, perhaps I didn't cook the squash enough? Someone mentioned that it looked like baby food, which it does. The taste was good though, so I think if I make it again, I'll cook the squash longer and try to tweak the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
THIS IS FANTASTIC!!!!! Everyone always wants to know what is in it!!! One comment, mine was really thin the first time I made it, so I made some adjustments. This is also wonderful for making mashed sweet potatoes. Just substitute an equal amount of baked sweet potato....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Wow! An elegant, easy and extremely delicious way to prepare butternut squash. I add a bit of chicken stock at a time because I found the whole amount to make it a bit to runny. I also add the maple syrup "to taste". What a fantastic combination of flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I would lighten up a bit on the onions, but otherwise I love it! Kinda like yams, another favorite veggie of mine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
This is delicious. My family has always loved winter squash, but this savory version is really a hit. Every guest that has been served it has asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Easton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States