Baked Squash and Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Very good side dish for autumn meals. I baked the squash for 90 minutes and didn't add any chicken stock and the consistency was good. The only other thing I will change when I make this again is to use less onion; it competed with the squash for the dominant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
So easy, and the kids ate it up. Beautiful blend of flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is a delicious recipe, was very well received on Thanksgiving, and so much easier than my previous squash recipe that required the squash to be peeled and cubed. I used large butternut squash and found that they needed to bake for at least 90 minutes before they were very tender. I read the reviews about it being a bit too soupy, so I added just enough chicken broth and maple syrup to puree the squash and it came out perfectly. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Followed recipe exactly. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Tasty enough recipe, really runny though! Practically a soup. And hey hey now, "uniquely American"!?!!? Don't forget about your trusty norther neighbors!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forbidden Fruit Cocktail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I couldn't get the mixture smooth, perhaps I didn't cook the squash enough? Someone mentioned that it looked like baby food, which it does. The taste was good though, so I think if I make it again, I'll cook the squash longer and try to tweak the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
THIS IS FANTASTIC!!!!! Everyone always wants to know what is in it!!! One comment, mine was really thin the first time I made it, so I made some adjustments. This is also wonderful for making mashed sweet potatoes. Just substitute an equal amount of baked sweet potato....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Wow! An elegant, easy and extremely delicious way to prepare butternut squash. I add a bit of chicken stock at a time because I found the whole amount to make it a bit to runny. I also add the maple syrup "to taste". What a fantastic combination of flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I would lighten up a bit on the onions, but otherwise I love it! Kinda like yams, another favorite veggie of mine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
This is delicious. My family has always loved winter squash, but this savory version is really a hit. Every guest that has been served it has asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Easton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Baked Butternut Squash

Watch how to make this easy side dish of oven-baked butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States