Baked Squash and Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Nice. Careful not to overdose on chicken stock or it'll take over the flavor of the squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
A little too runny, but delicious! It disappeared at dinner. I'll use less broth or more squash next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
adjusted the serving size down to 2 to equal the amount of squash I had.... kind of watery with no syrup taste. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Delicious. Didn't alter recipe except that I mashed instead of pureed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Super easy! This recipe has a wonderful flavor. I altered the directions; basically I had already peeled and cubed the squash before looking up an idea. I followed the steps, but preferred to use my potato masher instead of the food processor. We don't eat much squash down here in the south, but missed it from my childhood. This recipe looks a lot like mashed sweet potatoes...I think I can trick the kids. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dietcoke2122

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
The nutmeg and onions give this a wonderfully sweet taste. I don't even use the maple syrup most of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyJ
Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
What a nice treat! I followed the recipe and served it with a nice steak off the grill and the match was smooth and delicious. Great flavors together and a nice treat from potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I love squash and always need new ways to serve it. This was delicous. I did make some changes. When I scooped it out of the shell I kept the shell intact so I could serve the squash in the shells and I did not puree it because I prefered chunks of onion and squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I was really surprised by how much I liked this recipe. I'm always looking for more squash recipes that aren't the typical soup. I didn't puree it so there were still onion pieces but I thought it added texture. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Yum! This was really tasty and super easy to make! I made a few changes to reflect my cooking style and the ingredients I had on hand. Instead of pureeing I simply hand blended for about a minute for a more rustic texture. I was out of plain nutmeg so substituted pumpkin pie spice which worked well and also used the chicken stock sparingly. I used a splash to lubricate the blending process and another splash before reheating in the pan. The dish to me was a little sweeter than expected but I think that a cool creamy garnish, such as sour cream or even plain greek yogurt would add a lovely balance to the sweetness of this dish. Overall, tho... de-lish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States