Baked Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
This recipe was great! I did mix the eggs and milk together and added sauteed chopped onion and garlic but my husband and I both went back for seconds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I followed the tips given by Rivertownmom, except that I sauteed the garlic and onion and then topped it with the spinach and let it simmer until the spinach was wilted. I normally don't like cooked spinach; however, I thought this was very good. It is rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This was brilliant. A girlfriend and I made a variation of this for New Year's Eve for our husbands. We used chicken, chicken broth and a little alfredo sauce to make it a "pink" sauce. The artichokes are best if they are truly marinated and not just canned. Delicious. The spinach is fresh and it helps tone down the richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
My family and I loved this recipe. Although I did some things differently (used canned spinach that I drained) and took advice from previous users (mixed milk, eggs, salt & pepper)it came out very good. Next time we will try with fresh spinach and I believe it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Easy recipe and very good. I made it as a side dish and it disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUECOVELLBUTLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I think something went wrong when I made this recipe. I mixed everything together as some users recommended, and also added some sauteed garlic and onion. The texture of the casserole, however, was very odd - the spinach leaves came out a little crispy on the top. This may have been because my pan was too big and there was too much surface area exposed, or that since it was Thanksgiving the only place I had to cook it was the bottom oven rack. Still, I really think if one is using fresh spinach, it should probably be cooked a little first to avoid the weird crispy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is a fine recipe but some changes do need to be made in the preparation. Definitely mix together the eggs and milk. Next time I will also add the spinach in the egg/milk mixture like the a previuos review suggests. Any additional ingredients like garlic or onions are purely personal preference but my family appreciated the extra flavor. I might also cover the top of the casserole for half the time to insure the topping is not too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Everyone in my family loved this except for my 13-yr old son who doesn't touch anything green much less eat it. I did use several suggestions and made the following changes: I whisked together the eggs, milk & flour (I added a touch more than it called for) until smooth and free of lumps then I stirred in the grated cheese, which I increased to 1 cup (I used medium cheddar). I sauteed 1/2 cup of finely chopped onion with 3 plump finely chopped garlic cloves and added this to the final mix. I used fresh spinach (two 10-oz bags of tripple washed leaves) and pre-cooked it until well wilted. After squeezing out all excess water, I added the spinach, onions & garlic to the egg mixture then poured it all into a greased casserole dish. I topped it with a fine layer of seasoned bread crumbs followed by a layer of parmesean cheese and then one more fine layer of bread crumbs. I spritzed the top with margarine spray. It came out just beautiful and tasted as good as it looked. My husband and teenage girls had seconds and the girls even had some of the leftovers for after-school snack today! Will definitely make again and again. Next time I may add just a bit more cheese and probably more onion and garlic too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adair County, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I was very disappointed in this dish after reading so many wonderful reviews. I might make it again in the future, but I will alter it some. I think that the directions are a bit confusing. I layered the spinach and flour and then poured the eggs in the middle (I used more eggs as suggested) but the eggs and milk didn't seem to mix well while it cooked. I was thinking they would. Then I used sharp cheddar because I had it on hand so the topping was too strong of a taste (this was probably my own fault). Next time I think that I will make this dish more like a quiche and blend the milk and eggs. I might even put the flour, spinach, milk, eggs and cheese in a food processor because the worst thing about the dish was it's odd consistency and lumpiness. It was like scrambled eggs with spinach topped with breadcrumbs and cheese. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This recipe was just okay. I really hoped it would be tasty- my husband and I like spinach a lot, but this recipe just didn't cut it for me. I would have given it 2 stars, my dh liked it better, so it squeaked by with 3. It was greasy and not very flavorful. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States