Baked Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Really AWESOME and so easy to put together!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This recipe is basically a quiche without the crust! I followed the advice of the others and added onion and garlic, but over all I still thought that it was lacking something. Also, the final product is VERY heavy, so if you are looking for a light vegetable dish, beware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
I loved it! My boyfriend enjoyed it so much, he asked again and again for more. I thought it was interesting that the pie turned out like spanakopita, the Greek spinach pie (except that it uses feta cheese). We will definitely serve this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndal Khaw Nichols

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This was a nice alternative to regular steamed spinach. As many others suggested I whisked the eggs (used egg beaters), flour and milk together then added cheese (2 c), sauteed onions, and garlic. I steamed the spinach just a bit then added a half to the bottom of the dish. Used half the egg mixture on top the spinach, put the other half of the spinach and added the rest of the egg mixture. I topped with Italian bread crumbs and asiago cheese. I left out the margarine completly. It tasted great, but could use more garlic (I used 3 cloves) and more cheese. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I really enjoyed this dish. Hubby thought it was just so-so..but he's that way with just about all of the "new" recipes I try out on him. I did make some changes after reading several reviews. I steamed my spinach and drained it well. In a large bowl, I mixed my eggs, flour and milk till blended and then added the cheese. I sauteed some onion and garlic in a skillet and added this to the egg mixutre along with some of the breadcrumbs. I added the spinach last and poured this into a casserole dish. I sprinkled some more breadcrumbs on top and baked as directed. I found this tasted the best right out of the oven. It sort of reminded me of a quiche. Thanks for sharing Joanna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Enjoyed this recipe. Now I know what to do with all that leftover bagged spinach you get in the produce section!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
My husband and I enjoyed this very much. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
This was very good. I too followed the suggestions of rivertownmom. The only thing I would change is more garlic(perhaps not sauteed with the onions) and more cheese. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Not sure why, but this recipe was quite salty. I'm definately going to try it again because I used already seasoned bread crumbs and still added the salt - maybe that was my problem. I will omit the salt next time or use plain bread crumbs. In my absent-mindedness I may even have added salt twice! I'm going to give it another try though because the kids did like it and I know I can make this work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Follow Rivertownmom's notes and you won't go wrong. This was a fantastic meal served with Garlic bread and a fresh, light salad. I used fresh spinach and triple washed them (no one likes the grit), then I steamed them for only a minute to wilt the leaves. I wrung the spinach out to get rid of excess water and added it to the egg, milk, flour, cheese, onion and garlic mixture. Poured it in the dish, topped with bread crumbs and parmesean and waited. My kitchen smelled wonderful! As my Matty said... definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States