Baked Spinach Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I did this dip for Thanksgiving, and it was a hit! However, after reading the reviews, I went ahead and made some changes in order to make sure the dip came out perfect. I doubled all the ingredients, except for the Parm cheese topping. I added 1 C. Mayo, and 1 C. Sour Cream, blended them all well. Cover and bake 350F for 30 minutes. I removed the cover and let it bake an additional 15 minutes. I made up a bread bowl by using a pumpernickel bread, cut the top, hollow out the inside. Scoop the dip into the bowl, and I served with Crackers and nacho chips. The consistency was just right. It was a hit at the party, I'm asked to make it again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
I loved this recipe, though I took other's advice and added 3/4 block of fat free cream cheese, two cloves of garlic, and a bit of colby jack shredded cheese. All of that made it a little richer, creamier, not so dry, and more flavorful. It was an absolute hit, and great rewarmed the next day for dinner (what little was left). The only thing..it took nearly twice as long to bake as the original recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I make a variation of this recipe all the time and people love it. Try this - use 18oz of artichokes rather than 14, add 1c. mayo, and use 1 c. parm along with the other ingredients listed. Mix it all up and bake it covered at 325 for 30 minutes. Then uncover and bake until light brown. It will be creamy and delicious. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This recipe is great BUT I would suggest two things. One, use creamed spinach instead of plain and serve in a stoneware dish so that it stays hot longer. I also serve this with tortilla chips and not bread and it is much better. This dip is best hot- so keep your oven on and keep popping it back in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHLUH
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
Disclaimer: not suitable for chips. yes it's thick and tastes like spinach and artichokes That said, this dip is amazing. Use creamed spinach, add a couple cloves of garlic and serve in a hollowed out round of french bread with bread cubes for dipping. magnificent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
This dip was ok. I didn't love it. I'm not a big fan of spinach and I felt the flavor of the spinach came through too much. My family seemed to enjoy it. I used rye bread toast rounds as a "dipper." I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I thought this recipe was great just the way it is. (I noticed a lot of reviews saying to add cream cheese, garlic, onion, etc.?) It IS best served hot, but this dip went so fast with my family, it never had a chance to get cold! Very good. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I had lost this recipe and was so happy to find it again. My suggestions: roast a whole clove of garlic with olive oil and add it right in. I also like to add about 3 or 4 ounces of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I read the reviews before cooking, so I added a little half and half and a little skim milk to try to make it a little more creamy. I appreciate the recipes for this dish with no mayo, cream cheese or sour cream, and found this one to be tasty and a hit with my family. I also added some red pepper to spice it up. It is indeed best when very warm, reheated just fine, and I advise using a spoon to dish onto your chip or pita, as it is pretty thick. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Use this recipe all the time... Family favorite that this is what I have to take to every family function. Is also great served with fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States