Baked Spaghetti Squash with Beef and Veggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Fantastic! I did not change a thing and this recipe was perfect. I cut the squash in half lengthwise, scooped out the seeds, then microwaved cut side down in 1/4 inch of water in a casserole dish for 13 minutes. It turned out just right in less than half the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This is really tasty. I did have to change a few things because of my diet. Used Ground Turkey, Cabot 50% light cheddar cheese from Sam's (melts good), and I cut the squash in half, covered with plastic wrap and baked 10 min in microwave. (faster than oven)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This recipe is awesome!! My brother in law loved it and he doesn't eat veggies. I doubled the meat because that's what my husband likes, the extra lb was hot italian sausage. I used italian seasoning instead of the individual ones , ended up using 1 1/2 cans of tomatoes because of the added meat and doubled the cheese. YUM!!! I can't wait for a party so I can suprise everyone with this dish! Original recipe would have been perfect too, just changed it for my family's tastes. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Very good base recipe, if a little bland - it needs a little tweaking to be truly delicious. Next time I'll increase the onion and all the seasonings, add a little cayenne pepper for zing, and throw in a can of tomato paste and some sliced mushrooms. A few tips: Start with a big pot - the recipe as-is was waaay too big for my skillet, and I had to transfer it to a soup pot halfway through. Also, the toasted seeds of the spaghetti squash made a great snack. I coated them with a teaspoon of butter and some Worcestershire sauce, ground mustard, garlic powder, paprika, and salt, then toasted them for 25 minutes while the casserole was in the oven (stirring halfway through). Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This dish is delicious! If no one told you that the "noodles" were squash, you would swear it was pasta. It doesn't have that squashy taste. The dish was easy to prepare and very flavorful. I think the cooking time should be reduced a little bit, maybe to only 20 minutes, but otherwise I recommend it highly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This was great! I used zucchini instead of the bell pepper and mozzarella cheese. It was excellent and good leftover as well. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
My husband really liked this. I didn't have diced tomatoes so I used crushed and it was really good. I also substituted slices of chicken for the ground beef and my husband noted that the chicken "made the dish."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rellorba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This was excellent using homegrown spaghetti squash! Instead of using the nutritional info (it seemed high), I figured this out according to my weight watchers points system. This made 8 cups of food and each half cup serving was 4 points...a great meal in my book! Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
It was very good to me. Half my family enjoyed it a lot and the other half thought it was "just okay." It seems like this is a dish that either you really like and are intrigued with the spaghetti squash or you are wishing it was real spaghetti. Healthy, though, and I give it a thumbs up for that effort, especially for low carb diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was a FABULOUS alternative to baked spaghetti! I made a couple of minor adjustments (just personal taste) and used part ground beef/part italian sausage. Once cooked/browned, I added the tomatoes and onion to the meat, added italian seasoning, additional crushed oregano, and garlic powder...simmered that about 20 minutes to let the flavors merge a bit before adding the squash and cheese....worked like a charm, and was FAR from the bland some complained about. DEFINITELY WILL BE MAKING AGAIN...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States