Baked Spaghetti Squash with Beef and Veggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
When i was younger my Mama used to make a stuffed zucchini. She made it special for me because I liked it so much. Since she passed away a few years ago I have not had any. The first bite of this recipe almost brought me to tears. It taste exactly like Mama's recipe with squash instead of zucchini. Thank you thank you so much for posting this recipe. Mama would have loved it as I do. She used to do the same with the zucchini as with the squash except she would fill the zucchini boat back up with the filling and bake it. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was absolutely delicious! I made a few changes though. I just used a jar of Bertolli instead of tomatoes and mozzarella instead of cheddar. Cooked the squash in the microwave to save time. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I rated this recipe a 5 based on its amazing flavors. It's a little involved, but worth the effort. It's a great summertime dish, so I would say that you could bypass the oven step completely, so as not to heat up the house. In order to skip the oven step, micro your squash like others have said. Then simmer your sauce for awhile and put everything into the casserole dish while piping hot and let the cheese melt under the sauce. The only things I changed on this recipe, which I think was for the better, was adding 2 oz. of cream cheese to the squash right out of the micro so it melted into it. I also used grilled hamburgers from the day before for the meat which was an amazing blend of flavor, between the smoky meat and sweet cream cheese. REALLY good! Then I just backed down the cheddar on top so as not to have too much fat. I found this recipe because I was trying to salvage that meat into a leftover type dish, and now I'm going to make extra hamburgers every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
My first try with spaghetti squash and it turned out great. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
The flavor was good, but I ended up with too much liquid at the end. Maybe next time I will drain the tomatos. I also added a squeeze of tomato paste to the mix for a bit more tomato flavor. Other than that this was good, No need to change the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This recipe (with a different veggie mix) introduced my bf to spaghetti squash - and he is now a fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Huge success in my house! I did substitute ground turkey for the beef and it came out really good. i was a little wary of adding so much cheese but once it came out of the oven, the flavors all mixed together perfectly. Will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cavanaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I thought it was excellent although for more taste next time I might use my favourite spaghetti sauce and some salsa instead of the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Really good - first time cooking with spaghetti squash, this recipe has definitely encouraged me to use it again. I used meatballs instead of the ground meat, it worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I really liked this recipe and already made it again. My husband really likes it. I always hated spaghetti squash as a kid and haven't tried it since, so now I know we'll be having this more often. I made a couple modifications to make it easier- the first was to bake the spaghetti squash in the microwave. The 2nd time I made it I put everything back in the empty squash shells and baked it right in the shells. I've also added carrot to it (just shredded or sliced with the peeler)- hoping to add more things for the kids, but they wouldn't really try it. More for the adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a Paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States