Baked Spaghetti Squash Lasagna Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This is great! I added 1 lb. sausage, omitted the olives, substituted chicken bouillon for vegetable bouillon, and substituted Romano cheese for Parmesan. I put in a 9x13 baking dish (much easier to prepare and serve out of than the shells) and made each layer (sauce w/ sausage, spaghetti squash strands, and cheese on top) twice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
So tasty! To cut down cooking time, cut the spaghetti squash in half and place cut side down in a microwavable dish with a few tablespoons of water. Heat on high for 8-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCRAIG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This is very good and healthy. I pureed the tomato and onion mixture with a hand-held blender and boiled it down for about 25 minutes to reduce much of the water. Next time I will nix the squash shells and opt for throwing it all in a baking dish - the shells are a nuisance. I also added a couple dashes of crushed red pepper for some heat. Oh, and it's just fine without the Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This was the first time I ever made spaghetti squash. My husband has always gagged at the mention of it. Well he had 3 or 4 servings of this recipe. It is one that even my kids who never eat vegies liked. This will be a regular now at our home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I've heard of spaghetti squash a while back as an alternative to paste andbeing on atkins control carb way of life I was looking for an alternative. So Igave this recipe a try. before I go any further I must explain that I'd never been a fan of Squash period. Well to my surprise this dish was delisious and I plan on taking some to work next week to share. Many tanks Biglou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Have made this three times starting with the original recipe and then lending attention to other reviewers suggestions in subsequent preparations. Substitute the 2 14oz. cans of tomatoes with 1 24oz. jar of Bertolli Tomato and Basil prepared sauce...do not substitute with any other jar sauce. All other seasonings as stated. While microwaving is easier for the squash, oven roasting is best both for texture and flavor. Saute the onions and garlic until almost "dry" for lack of a better word and then add jar sauce and simmer until thick, about 35 minutes. You can prepare according to original recipe to complete. I left the olives out as I do not care for them in all of my preparations. You can add cottage cheese and or sauted ground beef/turkey. Both compliment the recipe and you would layer as if this were a lasagna with pasta. The one thing I can say about the water within this dish is that this IS squash...75% water. The more water you remove from saute or simmer, the less water in completed dish. If you allow this to sit about 30 minutes from oven to serving, it helps. The longer simmer time and 4oz. reduction in wet ingredients allow for the squash "water" to blend versus be runny. Excellent dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I love this recipe. It gives Spaghetti Sqaush a whole new twist. I love serving it in the squash rind. I used my own lasagna recipe and just substituted squash for the noodles. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
This is a good recipe if you're on a low carb diet. It was my first time using spaghetti squash, and I don't think I cooked it long enough. It was much too crunchy for me.However, I will try again maybe using a little water on cookie sheet to soften the squash and adjusting cooking time. I also wouldn't mess with putting it back in the shells... I would just use a baking dish. I also it makes more like 3 servings than 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
My 8 year old is the poster boy for picky eaters. Lasagna is one of his very few favorites. He couldn't get enough of this delicious way to sneak veggies into his diet. I cooked it in a baking dish and did add a little ricotta and left out the olives. Also the squaush I had took about 50 minutes to cook. Adding some leftover sauce from a jar helped hide the chunky tomatoes. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I thought that this was very good but it seemed to take a long time to make. It would be easier to bake the squash with a little moisture and layering a baking dish with pasta sause, cheese, and what ever else. I will probably try it again but do it a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States