Baked Spaghetti Squash Lasagna Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Well, for what it was, it was okay. There was no fooling anyone but it wasnt claiming that. It was only fixed "Lasagna style" I used one can of tomatoes, seemed like gobs plenty and I pureed it. I used lo fat ricotta cheese. I didnt use the shells although that would have been a cute presentation. I nuked the squash in the microwave first, so I used that same dish to assemble the dish. I don't know if I will fix again. I am still on my quest to find a way that I like to fix spaghetti squash, but thank you for sharing. I am sure it is a perfect fit for some palettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I liked it.. kids not so much. :) Great idea for spaghetti squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Didn't change a thing and this was amazing!! Even the kids liked it. Instead of a large spaghetti squash, since none were available, I used to small ones - about half the size of a normal one. It was perfect!! I needed 4 portions and so I was able to place each half of a dinner plate and everyone got their own little stuffed squash :D Makes a great presentation for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was a successful dish. I didn't follow the suggested presentation in the shell, just used a casserole dish. Only minor changes I made: microwaved the squash to speed things up. Added mushrooms. Used a pre-made pasta sauce. I used half low-fat ricotta and half fat-free cottage cheese, because that's what I had lying around. Topped it with mozzarella and some bread crumbs. Turned out great. The topping really added nice textural component. Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Never had spaghetti squash before. This was very good! I will be making spaghetti squash lots more in the future! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Our Girls' Night food theme this month was squash. I had only made spaghetti squash one other time before this and it was awful, so I was very pleased with the way this turned out. I'd still take regular baked spaghetti over baked spaghetti squash any day, but for what it is, this was pretty good. I did add a 1/2 lb ground beef to the tomato mixture and am very glad I did. I did use the olives, just because I had them in my pantry, but I think they could be left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerThyme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I personally loved this recipe. My only change was adding a bit of italian sausage in with the garlic and onions for the sauce and baking it in a dish. My family, however, wasn't so enthusiastic. My picky 3-1/2-year old wouldn't eat it and my husband, who doesn't like squash in the first place, said it was okay and he would rather have the carbs with the pasta noodles. Well, this was my first time trying spaghetti squash and I loved the texture of it with the sauce and cheese. I will make this again for myself, anyway. Next time I might season the squash with a little salt and pepper after I scrape it out of the rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I cut corners by using my favorite prepared sauce. I baked in pan with added layer of fresh steamed chopped broccoli florets and carrots. Topped with prebaked homemade Italian tofu meatballs and mozzarella/parm mixture. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was a healthy alternative. I used standard pasta sauce, added mushrooms and italian sausage. Layered with ricotta, sauce, squash, and shredded cheese (everything twice) and baked it off until bubbly and the cheese browned. The kids didn't even realize it wasn't spaghetti. They really thought it was pasta. They were super surprised when i told them it was squash... will probably make this again without the shells. The novelty only works once...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States