Baked Spaghetti I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I have been making this recipe for years! I have not found a person yet who doesn't like it. DO NOT CHANGE A THING! (Except seasoning it to your liking, i.e., garlic powder, oregano, italian seasoning...) This is not your typical "spaghetti casserole" and it's not meant to be. If you want regular spaghetti then make regular spaghetti. It kills me when people alter everything about the recipe in their reviews. Then it becomes something totally different. Do not substitute the tomatoes for ready-made sauce. You'll lose the whole idea of the recipe! Yes, cream of mushroom soup! It will not be the same with out it. It kind of acts as a sealer to keep the noodles from drying out. Great with garlic bread and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
415 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Due to others' reviews, i made some significant additions to the recipe, and it turned out great! With alterations as follows, everyone raved about the dish: I upped the green pepper (used a whole large pepper), used two cans of italian diced tomatoes, added one 8 oz can tomato sauce, almost doubled the mushrooms by using over 1/2 a lb of fresh, added 1 tsp italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper; I reduced the cheddar to one cup and added two cups of mozzarella, mixing them together; to the bottom layer of pasta I mixed in 1 jumbo raw egg, 1/2 cup parmasan cheese, and salt and pepper (to form a better "crust"); I had to up the water in the soup a bit (maybe to 1/3-1/2 c) and sprinkled basil, s & p over all. With these complicated sounding but really easy alterations, it was awesome! Served with crusty french bread, cesear salad, and the chocolate pudding pie off this site (see reviews).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
Very yummy recipe, but needed some help. Here are the changes I made: Used jarred sauce, mozzarella instead of cheddar and added sliced italian sausage (this was the best addition!). The cream of mushroom soup was a surprise but it really enhanced the flavor. Using the jarred sauce saved a lot of prep time and made this a relatively quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Pretty good. I added garlic and salt to the meat. Next time I will not layer the food. I will mix everything together and slap it in the pan, top with parmesan then cook. Got too many spoonfuls of plain noodles. Hope these suggestion help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I wanted a new recipe that I could make for a potluck at work and use my crockpot as well. This one was great. I added 1 cup of spaghetti sauce to the meat, and precooked my noodles. I followed the recipe and layered it into my crockpot and let it cook all morning. By lunch time it was ready and by the end of lunch, there was none left. This was a great recipe and I will definalty use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
My family loved this recipe. I did what others suggested and went very heavy on the seasonings. Next time I will use more cheese and more cream of mushroom soup then the recipe calls for. The soup makes the spaghetti have a nice cream sauce to it. I just wanted it to have more sauce. I will make this one again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This was really good! I didn't have a lot of the ingredients so I had to substitue or leave out, but the idea was the same. I used spaghetti sauce instead of diced tomatoes, left out the canned mushrooms, and instead of Cheddar Cheese, I had a shredded Italian mixture on hand (Asiago, Mozzarella, etc.). The family loved it, even my 5 yr. old who claims she doesn't like spaghetti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2000
Time consuming dish. I added extra mushrooms for more taste - still, not a memorable meal. A weekday family meal, but definitely not company fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This was great! We used a spicy pasta sauce instead of the tomatoes, and added two cloves of garlic, plus salt. A great recipe, and very easy to make. No complaints, it's wonderful, thanks for the recipe! We'll definitely be using it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2000
My family thought it was very bland. Will not try again - file 13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Baked Spaghetti

See how to make a simple weeknight favorite.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States