Baked Soy Lemon Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
My family did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Prepared recipe as written, with exception of using 1/4 C soy sauce instead of 1/2 C. My beautiful thick chops were like dried out hockey pucks when I removed them from the oven. Heat should probably be 350, not 375 and cook time about 20 minutes rather than 35-40. Will try again as I think recipe has potential. I will pray that the chops survive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I'm not a big fan of pork chops, I make them because my husband likes them but this recipe was really good! I did 1/4 soy sauce and 1/4 water and they were still a bit salty but not too salty. My 2 year old also ate these up so that's gotta count for something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shellsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I cooked this for dinner last night and my Husband and myself loved it. I also took the suggestions that others said about cutting the soy sauce in half and added 1/4 cup of water to cut down on the saltiness. It came out perfect. I also used pork chops with bone in since I normally don't buy boneless since they always came out so dry. But with this marinate I am sure boneless pork chops will be very juicy. And I love it because I have all the ingredients on hand. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These chops were phenomenal! I only marinated mine for about 3 hours and they tasted like they had been soaking up the goodness overnight. Well-seasoned and flavorful! Took the suggestion and paired them with feta-herbed-mashed potatoes and a light romaine salad and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesivotchka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These have so much flavor - love it! Just be careful not to overcook; they won't brown much, so it's easy to do. I had everything else mixed before I realized I'd already used all my lemons... so I made do with bottled lime juice (I know, I KNOW - so scandalous). It was still delicious, so I can't wait to do this one properly! I used reduced sodium soy sauce, and I would recommend it. I might even try Ponzu sauce next time, since it's vaguely citrus-y anyway. The resulting sauce in the pan is SO great - make sure you serve something that you could spoon a little right onto (rice or noodles, maybe quinoa or couscous). Oh, and PLEASE do not baste with the marinade straight from the raw pork!! Please oh please either add it to the roasting pan and baste from there, or boil the marinade for a few minutes before basting. So much potential for cross-contamination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Unknowingly, I used low sodium soy sauce and these were great! Followed the recipe exactly, marinated them in the fridge all day and then grilled them outside, 7 minutes a side cause I used really thick cut chops. Both my husband and teenager said we should make them again. They both want to try this marinade on chicken too. Bet that will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These were good. Will make again. Came out a bit dry, but that was my fault not the recipe. My daughter liked the sauce on white rice and loved the recipe. Not a favorite for my son-thought too sour...something to think about if you have young kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I read the reviews saying the chops were too salty but decided to use the full amount of soy sauce anyway. My only change was to add an extra T of lemon juice. They marinated for 6 hours in the fridge. I thought the flavor was very good- the meat does not taste specifically Asian. Just good and savory. I did not find it too salty, just right really. My only problem was that after baking for 35 minutes, my inch thick pork chops were quite overcooked and tough. I will try the recipe again soon but check them after 25 minutes. Once the toughness issue is resolved, this will be the perfect pork chop recipe- relatively healthy, tasty, and very easy! I bet it would fare well in the crock pot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Great. Cooked in the marinade (same glass dish). Good flavor. Did seem too salty - but don't think it would have if I hadn't poured the juices over the accompanying coucous. Poured a little orange juice over final plate too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Soy Lemon Chops

See how to make a tangy marinade for light and tasty pork chops.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Baked Pork Chops I

See how to make quick-and-easy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States