Baked Soy Lemon Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These have so much flavor - love it! Just be careful not to overcook; they won't brown much, so it's easy to do. I had everything else mixed before I realized I'd already used all my lemons... so I made do with bottled lime juice (I know, I KNOW - so scandalous). It was still delicious, so I can't wait to do this one properly! I used reduced sodium soy sauce, and I would recommend it. I might even try Ponzu sauce next time, since it's vaguely citrus-y anyway. The resulting sauce in the pan is SO great - make sure you serve something that you could spoon a little right onto (rice or noodles, maybe quinoa or couscous). Oh, and PLEASE do not baste with the marinade straight from the raw pork!! Please oh please either add it to the roasting pan and baste from there, or boil the marinade for a few minutes before basting. So much potential for cross-contamination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Unknowingly, I used low sodium soy sauce and these were great! Followed the recipe exactly, marinated them in the fridge all day and then grilled them outside, 7 minutes a side cause I used really thick cut chops. Both my husband and teenager said we should make them again. They both want to try this marinade on chicken too. Bet that will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These were good. Will make again. Came out a bit dry, but that was my fault not the recipe. My daughter liked the sauce on white rice and loved the recipe. Not a favorite for my son-thought too sour...something to think about if you have young kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I read the reviews saying the chops were too salty but decided to use the full amount of soy sauce anyway. My only change was to add an extra T of lemon juice. They marinated for 6 hours in the fridge. I thought the flavor was very good- the meat does not taste specifically Asian. Just good and savory. I did not find it too salty, just right really. My only problem was that after baking for 35 minutes, my inch thick pork chops were quite overcooked and tough. I will try the recipe again soon but check them after 25 minutes. Once the toughness issue is resolved, this will be the perfect pork chop recipe- relatively healthy, tasty, and very easy! I bet it would fare well in the crock pot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Great. Cooked in the marinade (same glass dish). Good flavor. Did seem too salty - but don't think it would have if I hadn't poured the juices over the accompanying coucous. Poured a little orange juice over final plate too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
wonderful and so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
boyfriend loved them, but they were way to salty for my taste. I'll try them again and take the suggestion of cutting the soy sauce in halving the soy sauce and adding some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saranwrapper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Easy to make and very tasty,very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
It was too plain and dry for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This recipe was just ok to me. Nothing terribly exciting or exceptionally good about it. I doubled the recipe because I had 8 pork chops, cut the soy sauce in 1/2 as other reviewers suggested, added water to make up for that, everything else I did exactly as the recipe was written. I marinated them for several hours and the chops had a very nice flavor. They weren't too salty and had a taste of lemon to them. The only down side to them was that they were a bit dry and tough when done cooking. That is probably because I used very thin, boneless pork chops and I cooked them for 25 minutes in the marinade and I think they should have only been cooked for 15 - 20 minutes instead. I will try this recipe again with less cook time or use thicker bone in pork chops. Overall the recipe was ok and I liked the ease of it so I will probably make it again, it just didn't blow me away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Soy Lemon Chops

See how to make a tangy marinade for light and tasty pork chops.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Baked Pork Chops I

See how to make quick-and-easy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States