Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DIANE73162
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I made this for the first time today, it was AWSOME! I did make some changes, I used a whole chicken and stuffed the cavity with one onion cut up in quarters and 3 cloves of crushed garlic. I also used poultry seasoning, garlic powder, Mrs. Dash, and paprika to season the chicken with. I used the foil balls, but put 2 cups of chicken broth on the bottom, and put the slow cooker on high for two hours and then turned it on low for 5 hours and it came out Great! It didn't fall off the bone because I didn't want to over cook it, but it was SO tender, I didn't even need a knife to cut it! My kids ate it all, I was hoping for leftovers for chicken salad, but there was none!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3604 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This recipe was simple and it made "fall off the bone" chicken. I used 5 chicken legs (skin removed) and cooked it on low for 9 hours. Instead of using the alluminum foil, I used potatoes (peeled and quartered) and carrots and onions under the chicken in the crock-pot. I added 1/2 c. chicken broth and lots of seasoned salt and pepper, too. The veggies were nice and soft and the flavor of this slow cooking was wonderful and EASY !!! Thanks 'Cotton' !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2067 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I used a 4.5 chicken. I rubbed butter all over and then sprinkled it generously with salt, pepper, garlic salt, seasoning salt, paprika and poultry seasoning. I put it on low and cooked it for about 11 hrs while I was at work. When we got home, it smelled wonderful! I used some of the juice from the bottom to drizzle over the chicken. It had a light golden color and looked very good. There was no point trying to pick it up because it fell apart soon as I tried. The meat was very tender and juicy. Only thing I would change is to remove all the skin from the chicken next time before seasoning. The skin slid right off when it fell apart and so, naturally, a lot of the flavoring was gone. The only other thing I may try to different if I leave the skin on is to try and buy those flavor injectors, to get some more of the flavoring down into the meat. Otherwise, outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1563 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Okay you all! I got this perfected!!I tried this recipe a couple of times when I was in a hurry and found the chicken just average..I wanted CRISPY crust. The secret? Brown the chicken first in cooking oil AND THEN put it in the slow cooker...Oh my God. To die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I didn't give this 5 stars only because I changed the recipe so much. I was concerned about using the foil so I used coarsely chopped onion, carrot and garlic on the bottom of the slow cooker. I liberally seasoned the chicken (I used a 3 pounder) with salt, pepper, paprika, and rotisserie chicken seasoning. I also placed some of the chopped veggies in the chicken cavity. To make sure the chicken didn't dry out, I added about 1 1/2 cups of apple wine I had on hand. I cooked the chicken on low for about 8 1/2 hours and it turned out great. Very flavorful and moist. When it was done, I fished out the veggies and strained the liquid. I thickened it just a little with cornstarch and served the sauce over the chicken with cooked white rice. My husband said it was the best chicken he'd ever tasted. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I am responding to several members' comments on the chicken falling apart when taking it out of the slowcooker. After seasoning the chicken, put it on cheeseclose, tie a loose knot, and then when it's done, you can just pick it up by the cloth and move it to a dish for carving. I use this method when I make chicken soup too, pull the meat apart and no bones to drain out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Simple, delicious recipe. I stuffed the cavity with onion, red bell pepper & garlic. I used baby carrots & quartered potatoes under the chicken instead of the foil. I used a mixture of olive oil, Italian seasoning, salt, pepper & minced garlic. Rub your spices under the skin like you would a turkey or the skin will be flavored & not the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
679 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Very easy..chicken was juicy. I put whole celery stalks and whole carrots, onions cut in half on the bottom instead of the foil. about 1/2 cup bouillion also. Used a seasoned roaster,only added garlic powder and poultry seasoning for added flavor. Put it in breast side down and after 4 hours flipped it right side up. Cooked for another 3 hours. Meat was excellent, but the best part was the broth on the bottom..made the best chicken gravy I have ever tasted. gonna use the rest for chicken and biscuits later on. Good meal for a busy day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
452 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I have 10 kids and they all liked this recipe! I did make a few additions. I rubbed it with olive oil and I put lemon pepper, garlic salt, paprika, and onion powder on my chicken and poured a small amount of Red Wine in the bottom of the crock pot. Would have been good with a white wine too. It smelled so good while cooking and tasted great. I only cooked it for approx. 6 hours otherwise it would have been too dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
452 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serving_Him

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Why do people change the entire original recipe? Why not just post your own recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
444 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Maineville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States