Baked Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is by-far the best chicken I've ever had, and it's super easy. I followed the directions exactly. Super moist, falls off the bone, and smells delish when you're walking into the house after a long day at the office. My husband REALLY loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Put veggies on bottom, added 1 can of chicken broth, cooked on high for 2 hrs, then turned down to med for 4 hrs. Used 5 lb. chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
So easy...great way to make chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I was not a fan of this. Yes it does fall off the bone but it just tasted too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Please don't hate me for reviewing this recipe even though I went off the grid. Figured someone might benefit from this info. Took other reviewer's advice and put carrots, potatoes and onions in bottom of crock because I'm lazy and didn't want to have to come up with a separate side dish. Used a completely frozen, hard-as-a-rock whole chicken. I rubbed a little olive oil over the frozen, yucky juice (it occurred to me after the fact I should have rinsed it) and sprinkled it with Lawry's. Cooked on high for about an hour and a half (meant to only do it for an hour) and then cooked on low for about another 8 hours. Everything was delicious, the chicken fell apart and the meat fell off the bone, and there was plenty of juice created without having to add any extra should I have chosen to make gravy. I think I did cook it a skoosh too long...was just nervous about the frozen bird thing. Also forgot to put my chicken in breast side down, dangit. Think this would have helped avoid the slight dryness I detected. Would definitely make again. Too easy not to. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I made this, no changes necessary....Delish, juicy, the whole family loved it! Will make again! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
unfortunately, this didn't work out too well for me...I followed the recipe to a T, except I used onions cut in half instead of the foil balls, but the chicken was very, VERY dry, even with the juices made into a thin gravy and we could only eat the drumsticks. The rest will go into a casserole during the week, I guess. Won't be using this method again tho'. Some things just do better in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I made changes, but I really enjoyed the results. I did not use the foil; my 4 1/2 pound bird was atop quartered red potatoes, baby carrots, onions and celery. I also chopped the same veggies (no potato) and stuffed them into the cavity. I blended paprika, freshly chopped garlic, sea salt, and black pepper into room temperature butter and rubbed the mixture under and over the skin. A tablespoon of the butter went into the cavity also. My slow cooker runs hot, so I cooked everything on the low setting for 5 hours. I was able to get the bird onto the platter without the carcass collapsing, and the meat was moist, flavorful and very tasty. I made a quick gravy with a flour roux and the juices from under the meat and veggies. I think that it is important to note that I used absolutely no liquid, there is no need. The meat will make plenty of juice that can be used for gravy, a quick stock, and so on. Next time - and there WILL be a next time - I think I'll switch up seasoning, maybe use rosemary and thyme. Looking forward to the chicken salad I am making tomorrow with the small amount of leftover meat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Good recipe, because I never realized you could slow cook a chicken. That being said, this recipe is very basic. You can jazz it up however you like to dress your chicken. I normally stuff with garlic & onion, and outside with many different seasonings. You do NOT need a liquid in it. Another thing I learned in the past year for ANY meats. The meat will make its own juices, so if you just threw that bad boy into the crockpot and turned it in, it will cook just right. A note to everyone who doesn't like it soggy outside (me neither, chicken skin is the best!!), when it's done cooking, CAREFULLY (I use big spoons on either side and move slow) transfer to a cookie sheet wrapped in foil, and broil for about 15 minutes. Gets the outside good and crispy, and everyone will think you roasted a chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is the "BEST" ever and So EASY !!! I did cook it on high for 2hr's and low for about an hour. Oh it was SO juicy and YUMMY ! Have so much left over I'm going to use the chicken pot pie recipe. Thanks SO much, this is the Very Best Recipe Ever .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debora C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States