Baked Shells in Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
On its own, a little bland. I recommend adding some fresh oregano. Wakes this recipe right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This tasted like tomato sauce, pasta, and cheese usually taste (yummy, but not in a particularly surprising way). I do like that it incorporates tofu. As other reviewers pointed out, the better the sauce, the better the dish. I modified somewhat based on what I had on hand. Made with 1 cup pasta, 1/2 of an 8oz. container of sliced baby bella mushrooms (did not dice), 4 small cloves garlic (minced), 1 cup tomato sauce, heaping 1/2 cup tofu, heaping 1/2 cup mozzarella, 1/2 cup Parmesan, and some finely chopped basil, sage, and rosemary from my garden. Sauteed mushrooms with garlic (as suggested by many). Baked in a pammed 8x8 pan. Made 2 (very thin) layers each of the pasta mixture and the cheese mixture. Overall, good, easy option for a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Fast, easy and delicious. I substituted spinach for the mushrooms and it was great. My toddler helped me cook it and he loved it. Great for making with and for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
It's only an okay recipe--I added a few vegetables, but I actually like the idea of just putting the tofu in with the sauce; it really was barely noticeable for those who arenèt big fans of tofu...still I don't think I'd follow the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very good, a nice way to use silken tofu. Definitely all about the sauce. I added garlic and green pepper. I wish I would have Pam-ed the dish before baking for easier cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Only after some changes & additions would I rate this 5* because I think it would be bland as written. I used the "calculate" button for 5 servings. What I changed, using some others suggestions & my own ways: Increased the amt. of pasta even a bit more. Used penne instead of shells which gave the dish more substance & chewines. Cooked al dente a must! Used good spaghetti sauce instead of tomato. Used portabello mushrooms since that's what I had. Increased amt. of tofu even a bit more. Sauted mushrooms & tofu in a little olive oil. Added drained artichokes, sliced & some roasted red pepper (from a jar), diced. Topped w/ more cheese - freshly grated Parmesan. Still was an easy, quick main dish & very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This was very good. I used it as recommended as just a base and adapted for my desires. Also, I used ready-made pasta sauce, not plain tomato sauce as I was certain I would find it bland. I didn't have mushrooms but added carrots, zucchini and onions as well as some extra Italian seasonings and garlic. If I make this in the future, I will saute the vegetables to soften them before mixing. I also didn't measure anything at all, just used the recipe as a guide. It turned out very good, and was incredibly easy. I'm not a fan of ricotta, so I think I'll be using tofu in my pastas in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I thought this was excellent! The tofu was a really cool idea that I would have never thought of adding to a dish like this. I added sauteed onions and garlic and some fresh zucchini and squash. I wanted more than 2 servings and ended up using 1 jar of sauce and half a package of pasta, and this turned out to be a good ratio. I would recommend cooking the pasta VERY al dente, because it continues to cook in the oven, and then if you reheat any leftovers, the pasta becomes kind of mushy. All in all, a great recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I really didn't think this would be so good. I added zuchini, lots of chopped onion, garlic, green pepper. I also added a lot of cheese and dotted with butter. Nobody could tell the difference between the tofu and cheese. Like others stated, use a good quality sauce. The more veggies...the better. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
this was really yummy. I sauteed the tofu with olive oil, garlic, green peppers, and artichoke hearts. I also added bread crumbs on top as suggested in one of the other reviews. I covered it with foil after about 20 minutes because it was starting to brown too much and cooked covered for another 10 minutes. I will definitely make again! My husband would not have known there was tofu in it if he hadn't seen the package on the counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States