Baked Shells in Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
Wonderfull recipe. You can do anything you want here. I added dried basil & oregano to the tomato sauce, I also added chopped fresh mushrooms and zucchini. My daughter is 9 and she loved it. I told her the tofu chunks were white cheese. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
This recipe was very simple and great. I have found it difficult to use tofu in many recipes because my family is afraid of it...they really liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
This was an awesome dish! I had to adjust to what I had available but it was essentially the same and excellent! Instead of mozzarella, I used cheddar and I just spread it over the top (didnt mix it in). I also added a touch of garlic before I mixed in the noodles for some extra flavor. My husband is more of the carnivorous type, yet he LOVED this dish (said it was the best thing Ive ever made him, in fact) and didnt have the slightest incling that it was tofu in there. I give this a big 5 stars! Kat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
This meal was excellent! I altered it a bit...I added bacon with the tomato sauce (takes away from the veggie part of it, but I needed to use it up), added a bunch of Italian spices and herbs, and used jumbo shells. I also used the whole box of shells and whole brick of tofu to make a full sized casserole...turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Excellent. My kids don't know it was made with Tofu and a lot of mushrooms and they absolutely loved it! I'll serve it to them again, wait for their smiles and then enlighten them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
Delicious! I added Italian seasoning and black olives, and it came out wonderful. Easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
We loved this basic recipe. I used spaghetti sauce (more than called for) and added some browned Italian sausage and a few red pepper flakes. The browned mozarella cheese on top made the dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Fabulous! I tried this last night and it was fantastic. I used a jarred Arabiatta sauce and of course add spices such as garlic and italian seasoning. What a great way to add tofu into a diet. We're vegetarians and are always looking for new things to do with tofu. I like that the cheese is not overdone in this, just enough to give it some texture. I suggest taking this recipe and playing with it - it so versatile. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLACIA2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Quite good!!!! Just wish the measurements were given by weight, at least for the pasta... Didn't have shells, and the other kinds of pasta don't measure the same by the cup, so I think that's why I ended up with an overly saucy casserole. But the flavors are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I've made this recipe a few times--it's one of our favorites. I use the entire block of tofu and adjust the other ingredients accordingly. I also add a lot of onion, garlic, and much more mushrooms. Hunt's tomato sauce with basil, garlic, and oregano is perfect (at least for us). This recipe freezes well, and, unlike another reviewer, I found that it heated just fine in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States