Baked Shells in Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I've made this recipe a few times--it's one of our favorites. I use the entire block of tofu and adjust the other ingredients accordingly. I also add a lot of onion, garlic, and much more mushrooms. Hunt's tomato sauce with basil, garlic, and oregano is perfect (at least for us). This recipe freezes well, and, unlike another reviewer, I found that it heated just fine in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Quite good!!!! Just wish the measurements were given by weight, at least for the pasta... Didn't have shells, and the other kinds of pasta don't measure the same by the cup, so I think that's why I ended up with an overly saucy casserole. But the flavors are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Fabulous! I tried this last night and it was fantastic. I used a jarred Arabiatta sauce and of course add spices such as garlic and italian seasoning. What a great way to add tofu into a diet. We're vegetarians and are always looking for new things to do with tofu. I like that the cheese is not overdone in this, just enough to give it some texture. I suggest taking this recipe and playing with it - it so versatile. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLACIA2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
We loved this basic recipe. I used spaghetti sauce (more than called for) and added some browned Italian sausage and a few red pepper flakes. The browned mozarella cheese on top made the dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
This was very good. I don't eat dairy, so I used soy mozarella, which turned out well. The second time I made it I added peas, which I liked, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
I used seasoned (Italian) veggie crumbles - added my own spices, we loved this dish. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
Note from the recipe author -- A few people mentioned that it was missing something. If you noticed in the description, I said that it is a basic recipe, meaning that it is a starting point. Add your favorite spices and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I just made this and it was one of those recipes that turned out right without me spending the whole meal "apologizing" to the family. Of course, it's pretty hard to screw this one up and I owe alot of the credit to the makers of the particular spaghetti sauce I used-- the sauce is what determines the flavor of this dish, so unless you use your own sauce recipe, it's not really your success. I trippled the recipe to serve six and I used an entire 12.3 oz package of tofu-- 3/4 cup just wasn't enough. I used chopped portabellos since that's what we had for mushrooms and they tasted just fine. The dish holds together very nicely, but it tasted a little funny when I microwaved the leftovers-- I don't recommend doing this if you use jarred sauce. Overall very good and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
This was fantastic! I made it for my friend who was scared to try tofu and he loved it! I also used spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I used spaghetti sauce instead of plain tomato sauce and added some sliced black olives I had left over.... Still needed something, not bad, but lacked interest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States