Baked Shells in Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
A great meatless dish! I used cheddar instead of mozzarella cheese because it was what I had handy. I'll definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
This was VERY good. I added mushrooms and a lot of garlic and some artichokes all chopped up. I also added some Italian seasonings to the sauce as I like it with a lot of flavour. I would make this again and again esp when I am in a hurry. Tastes even better the second day. My 5 yr old loved it too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This recipe was really simple. I didn't use the crumbled Parmesan cheese, instead I found a 4 cheese mix that had Parmesan in it and used it instead. My family loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
This was the first tofu meal I've eaten let alone made! It was quick and easy and very yummy. Even my husband enjoyed it and "could handle" having it a couple times. His and my only complaint was that I customized it to 2 servings and there wasn't enough it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4fit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Very simple and easy. I made 8 portions and my husband declared it good enough for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
As is, I give this a three star, because it is very bland. I would give it a five star as a base recipe. Made with my homemade Italian sauce, more mushrooms, and more tofu, it is a great recipe. This recipe can easily be added to. Green Peppers would also be a nice addition. So experiment and I am sure you can make this into a recipe that you will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
This was pretty good- my first time using Tofu in anything - It was easy to make - I think next time I might use shredded parmesean instead of grated..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
This was very delicious. I used a homemade sauce and the flavor was wonderful. There are many ingredients you could add to make this better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This was really good! Like someone else, said, it's really the sauce you use that makes or breaks it. I made my own tomato sauce. I also quadrupled the recipe, and used penne instead of shells. I didn't use any of the cheese, but the tofu sure fooled everyone as ricotta! Also, I sauteed zucchini slices and a portabello mushroom. I decided to layer it like lasagna, with sauce on the bottom, a layer of noodles, some mushroom and zucchini chunks, then the tofu (used more), and then started over with the sauce. I ended it with sauce on top and sprinkled chopped black olives all over the top. Yum, yum, and quite healthy!!! Next time I'll try it with lasagna noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Great basic recipe where you can add what you want! I made 4x's the amount to be able to use a whole block of tofu and used a whole jar of spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce and added fake bacon and some sliced olives. I added garlic powder and italian seasoning since the spaghetti sauce is a tad bland. Great starter recipe! Oh and i used soy cheese instead of real cheese to make it a vegan dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States