Baked Shells in Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Made this last night with "Zippy Zucchini" on the side. Quadrupled the recipe and it came out really tasty! I wasn't sure how to "crumble" fresh tofu, so I just bought the MorningStar crumbles and sautéed them with Onion, Garlic, and Mushroom (with a little butter) before adding it to the shells. I used "Prego 3 Cheese" and "Prego Tomato, Onion, and Garlic" flavored sauces. We had a lot of extra Parmesan cheese, so that went on top about half-way through baking, which gave it a really flavorful, crispy top-layer. I don't cook often and it was really easy - especially after reading reviews and learning some tricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieSean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
My kids loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Wow! My husband, a tofu hater, didn't even suspect that the "cheese" wasn't cheese in this dish. He ate about three helpings! I dressed up jarred spaghetti sauce with onions, garlic and seasonings, and it was pretty good. He did suggest adding some italian sausage to spice it up, however, which I realize is not an option for the vegetarians cooking this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I followed the advice of other viewers and added chopped onion, garlic, more tofu and used almost 22 oz. of a tomato and basil sauce. The casserole was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
So good, best veggie pasta dish I've made. I skipped the cheese and mixed the tofu with fresh spinach that I cooked with a lot of garlic, red pepper flakes and pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Thanks Krista B.....I'm giving this 5 stars because this is a great dish to sneak in tofu! You don't even know it's there. I make this recipe exactly as is. My 5 year old and 3 year old don't like things with a lot of strong seasonings or spices, so this is perfect for us -- it's become a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is so good. I used bottled sauce and added white wine and sauteed onions, yellow bell pepper,mushrooms and zucchini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This is an excellent starter recipe! I doubled the pasta & sauce and used veggie mozz. cheese. I also had about 1/3 cup of sliced onions in the fridge, so caramelized those, then set them aside and cooked the diced mushrooms & about 1/4 cup of diced carrots in the same pan with a tablespoon of water and a tablespoon of butter. I mixed the tofu, onions, carrots and mushrooms together. I took other suggestions and layered the dish, topping it with nutritional yeast and throwing in chopped basil throughout. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUTHERMCREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, Maine, USA
Living In: Bath, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I loved this recipe! It was so simple and fast to make. I added a veggie tomato sauce but i would still add some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My husband thought this was a 3 star recipe, but to be fair I added black olives, which I think overpowered things a bit. My 15 month old son, on the other hand loves this and gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States