Baked Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This was okay... has the potential to be better with a little bit of tweaking. Besides the flavor of the soy sauce, I thought it was a little bland. This would also be great served with some type of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This recipe was good, but not great:( I would put tinfoil on the bottom of the pan next time & not add additional salt. I also thought it would crisp up better. Overall good, love sesame seeds & the calcium they provide:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This recipe was good but a little too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I have used this recipe many times for family and friends. Everyone raves at how good it is. I do use a little more flour and toasted sesame seeds than what the recipe calls for. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Pretty good :D We used skinned chicken breast and thigh instead of just the breasts and we ended up quadrupling the amount of soy sauce, sesame seeds, flour, etc. We also cut it up into strips and baked for about 15 minutes. THe chicken turned out moist and delicious, but a little too salty on the smaller strips. We're trying to figure out how to make it more crispy...probably add more butter. We'll probably make it again for a potluck. Note: it would be a good idea to grease the pan b/c the chicken will stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Great easy recipe. This was a hit with all my boys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I have no idea how this recipe managed to get so many people to vote it so highly - we didn't like it at all. There wasn't nearly enough flour/seeds to coat all chicken breasts - and when the chicken was done cooking, it had absolutely no flavour (except for sesame). We will definitely not make this dish again....try something else if you're looking for a dish with flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Being worried about the salty taste of the soy sauce, I took some advice from others who had tried this recipe. I added a container of sweet and sour I had in the fridge from McDonalds and about 3 or 4 teaspoons of Mrs. Butterworth to the soy sauce. To the sesame seed mixture I added a teaspoon of garlic powder and left out the salt. But as others had found you'll need to double the mixture to have enough to coat the chicken. I cut the breasts into strips and ran each one though beaten egg before the soy sauce mixture, then dredged it through the sesame seed mixture. I also sprinkled more sesame seeds on top before putting it into the oven. I flipped the chicken halfway through cooking, it was moist and perfectly seasoned. A new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RATSREAR
Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This turned out alright, but not great. I found this to be quite bland. There definitly wasn't enough liquid to baste the chicken with. I added about 3/4 C of chicken broth to the pan in the middle of cooking when I realized it was going to burn to the bottom. Doing this made a nice sauce to serve over the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States