Baked Seafood Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was very very good. I followed the recipe exactly as stated and would like to offer a few suggestions. I would not add flour to the butter, onion, pepper, crab portion of the recipe. The flour just creates a pasty kind of thickness at the bottom of your dish. Secondly I would cut down on the milk-start with 2 cups and get it to the consistency you like. I found 3 cups made alot of bechemel sauce. I did add about 1 cup of cheese instead of 1/2. Add seasonings to your taste. I added some garlic powder. This is a wonderful recipe and very easy to personalize to your taste. I made it for my 25th anniversary dinner and my husband can't say enough good things about how this turned out. Thanks for sharing and I will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Thought this was good, but very, very rich. The only thing I did different, was I used the fake crab meat stuff. I didn't want to spend 30.00 dollars on just the crab if I didn't like it. I like this in a small portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The fresh seafood that I used tasted great esp the crab meat. Thought the rest of the dish was sort of bland though. Seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is great! A bit of trouble but a nice dish. Served up in my 'fish-shaped' baking dish, it's a great presentation for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was absolutely delicious. Possibly the best dish we've made from Allrecipes. I've bumped up the amount of each seafood by 1/4, and used Dover Sole instead of flounder but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I say it again, absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This dish was disappointing. It was lacking something. If I made it again, I'd probably add a squeeze of lemon, some red pepper flakes and some chopped fresh parsley. I guess that's what it lacked - a freshness which the lemon and parsley could have lent to it. I served it over brown rice, but it would have been far better over toast points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Note to newbie cooks: when it comes time to stir the sauce "until thickened and bubbly"...don't make my mistake! I did not let it thicken nearly enough, and my final product was quite wet. If you're a novice and you think your sauce is thick enough, let it go another 5 minutes after that :) Even though I botched the recipe, it was still quite tasty and I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
We made this Seafood dish without the flounder. We decreased the flour, which someone else suggested, and it was delicious. The finished dish comes out of the oven appearing to be a little to fluid, but as it cools it is just right. So we suggest letting the dish sit for about 5 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Followed recipe exactly..scaled to four servings...for those who had a problem with soupiness, remember, when scaling, directions do not scale only ingredients..example, in directions, it calls for 1/2 cup butter, if scaled to 4 servings, it will still read 1/2 cup but should only be 1/4 cup... This was tasty, not gourmet, but still a good, easy to follow recipe..to those who changed recipe by using canned anything, that's not what the recipe calls for...canned crabmeat along with talapia, should not be allowed in your kitchen...I did substitute fresh haddock for flounder...will make again, served over buttermilk biscuits with side of grilled asparagus..would do well over noodles, rice, or pastry..very close to a seafood newburgh..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I didn't think this was all that. A lot of effort for something that just was kinda bland and kinda fishy, and I love seafood. You end up with way too much. My husband wouldn't eat it because it was too fishy, and after day 2 of trying to finish this dish off, even my brother who lives off seafood, said it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States