Baked Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Even though I sort of screwed this up, it still turned out delicious! This was my first attempt at baking an entree (Usually I stick to cakes and cookies) and made sure to read a number of the reviews for tips as I was a bit leery of some of the directions. The suggestion to put the scallops in a bag of the breadcrumb mixture in order to get a nice coating rather than just on top was a good one. My hiccup was the dish I used to bake them in. It wasn't big enough for all of the scallops to be on the bottom of the dish, so there were some on top of others. This resulted in some of the scallops having a crispy breading and others to be rather soggy. But the taste definitely made up for it. I was quite surprised at how not terribly garlic-y this actually was and I tend to be less tolerant of that spice than most. Served them over spaghetti with a garlic-butter sauce and sprinkled an Italian cheese blend over all of it. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Keeper! Absolutely loved them! So easy to make and so delicious! I used the big sea scallops. I didnt have any seasoned bread crumbs on hand so i smashed up butter crackers instead. Crackers and big scallops worked great! =) o yes! I sprinkled lemon juice on them too! I've never baked scallops before so i was scared but they came out perfect! No more sautéed scallops, trying to make sure you done under or over cook them! I totally prefer this baking method now. Also, My husband is so picky when it comes to scallops being cooked. He's actually picky w all food in general. Lol! He will straight out tell you if he dont like something, or if its too tuff, etc... But he said these were amazing!! =) Thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe w us! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
The only thing I would change about this would be to reduce the amount of bread crumbs. Tasted great, but just a little overboard in that area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was perfect-got rave reviews from my family!! Simple perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This wasn't bad, but I had higher expectations based on the reviews. I made the recipe as shown, but it seemed to have WAY too much breading (even after tossing to coat all sides with the butter), so I only used about 75% of the bread crumb mixture. After 20 minutes, the scallops were perfectly done, but the breading was still soggy. Maybe it's my oven. I will try again, but either in the broiler or with a higher temperature setting, and definitely less breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Yes I have!I used the large scallops I am going to make again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I've made this two times now for my boyfriend and I. We both never had scallops before and this paired with fettucine is delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Loaded with flavor, but the scallops were just a little dry for our tastes. Next time, I will add more butter (I know it adds more fat and calories) and probably take out of the oven at 15 minutes. Delicious and easy seafood entree particularly for a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
For the price...this was not exciting in any way. I thought the breading had a weird flavor and it cooked too mushy with the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States