Baked Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I was concerned when I read other reviews that maybe mine would be a little bland or the potatoes would not be cooked throughly, so what I did was slice the potatoes. I put a layer of potatoes, chopped onion and then leftover Honey Baked Ham and then another layer of potatoes and chopped onion. I mixed 1 can of cream of chicken soup and 1/2 cup of milk in a bowl then added season salt, onion salt and garlic salt. Once these were all mixed in the bowl I spread the mixture evenly in the pan and covered with foil and cooked for 1 hour. I stirred the mixture and then added more ham and cheese I left the foil off and cooked for another 1/2 hour. Big hit in my household. I will be making this again. Was very flavorful and throughly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: La Verne, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Easy scalloped potatoes! Put it together and forget about it. Don't bother with carefully layering potatoes in a scallop pattern...just throw them in. Taste was creamy and good. Don't add extra milk, it's soupy as is. I also recommend a dash of nutmeg for flavor and broiling some cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
These scalloped potatoes are so easy to make and so good! The perfect creaminess too. I make this dish at least every couple of weeks (during the colder months) in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I made this for the first time. It was delecious and I will be sure to do it again. Also I made it for 2 and used a smaller pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This recipe was ok. I did what the recipe said about adding more milk if it didn't cover the potatoes, and I don't think I should have done it. My recipe was a bit runny. They tasted ok...but needs a little more flavor per my family. I may try again and add some seasoning, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I added a bit of onion powder & dried rosemary, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This recipe is easily converted to each persons tastes, which makes it so great. I used cheese and broccoli soup and also added mozzerella and cheddar cheese. The liquid did not cover the potatoes, I didn't add extra milk, and I was glad that I didn't after I started cooking it. It turned out wonderfully, this is a great recipe that is easy to change-up everytime you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This was very tasty, but not what I was expecting. It all got eaten up, but I was not able to get a nice brown "crust" on top without the rest of it drying out. Will make again and keep working with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
VERY BLAND DISH. WAS NOT THE BEST. SORRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
With my changes I'd give it 4.5 stars. I halfed recipe (only me & my daughter). Added 1/2 cup sharp cheddar cheese to ingredients. Left potatoes unpeeled, and thinly sliced them. Mixed 1/2 can of cream of mushroom soup with 1/2 can of whole milk. Sauteed 1/2 diced onion in a pat of butter. Used 1/8 tsp pepper & 1/2 tsp kosher salt. Layered as follows: 1/2 of everything - potato slices, seasoning, onions, soup mix, cheese, repeat and cooked for listed time & temp. My daughter loves 'em and I was happy with recipe. Wanted a scalloped potato recipe that wasn't swimming in cheese so this had the perfect balance for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States