Baked Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Great basic recipe, but definitely needs to be seasoned to your specific tastes. Used my 2 qt casserole dish and it took 2 hrs to cook, so be forewarned-turns out the other reviewers were right. Also added shredded cheddar, 1/2c sour cream and 1tsp onion powder and was still a little bland. But great starting point for someone who doesn't have the time to mess with making their own sauce from scratch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I uses this recipe to make a meal for 40 people at a lunch program. I added layers of ham to make it more filling. Then I added some garlic powder and a some Tex Mex spice to add a bit more flavor. I found the potatoes were runny so I mixed some flour in for the last hour; this could have been because I made such a large quantity. I used 20lbs of potatoes and it took four hours. It turned out really well and got great reviews from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
The first time I tried this recipe the potatoes came out a little hard. This might have been due to the fact that my oven heating element went out on me during the cooking time and had to take it to my mother's to finish the cooking. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Excellent. This was a huge hit. I don't know why people were complaining about the baking time being off because mine was perfect and I baked it for exactly an hour. I sliced mine super thin, so I guess that helped reduce cooking time. Anyways, I seasoned the potatoes with salt, pepper, dried rosemary, and garlic powder and also grated 4 cloves of garlic. I also thinned out the cream of mushroom mixture with a cup of milk. Sprinkled some cheddar cheese on the top and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing this! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I thought it was easy and good. I just added some more herbs for some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! I was definately skeptical about the mushroom soup, but after trying numerous recipes wtih a cream/flour based sauce, I was ready to try it. I added about 4 cloves of grated garlic and after stirring it at the 30 minute mark, I covered it with grated sharp cheddar. It's definately a keeper and a household favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Made this twice. The first time with cream of chicken and the second with cream of mushroom. I preferred the chicken, while my husband the mushroom. To say, both were delicious.We did add cheese (personal preference) and we had to cook much longer than recipes states...but well worth the wait. I will make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Always like potato casseroles and this is easy and good. I do think any cream soup works fine. I used cream of shrimp and only had 3 potatoes on hand. Made the adjustments and topped with a grated hard cheese. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alachua, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was good, but I have to say 4 stars because the cooking time is way off. I halved the recipes and mine still took over an hour to cook through and my potatoes were VERY thin. I added shredded mild cheddar in between the layers and on top, yum. Loved the cream of mushroom soup in there, tasted great. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was a good basic recipe, just have to add a few more things for flavor. I added some sour cream, fresh thyme, a little garlic and some shredded cheese. I topped it with french-fried onion rings. It also took forever to bake. It was very tasty once it was done. (Almost 2 hours)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States