Baked Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was very bland. I tried adding salt and pepper, and even a little cheese towards the end but it just didn't seem finished. I also didn't like the onion in there. It was okay but I don't think I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten_face

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I use this recipe as a guideline for the cooking time but have made quite a few changes. First I peel, then slice 4 medium-szied potatoes as thin as I can. I put a layer down on a casserole dish, season with salt and pepper, then top it with onions. I then mix together 2 cups of milk and 2 cans of cream of cheese soup (Nacho Cheese soup works too!). Then I pour the soup on top to cover. I repeat the layers until I use up all the potatoes. I can usually do one potatoe per layer. I cook covered for 1 hour, remove the cover and cook for another 30 minutes. Cooking time varies on how thinly you can slice the potatoes. Make sure to put the casserole dish on a foil-lined cookie tray to catch any boil overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I went ahead and gave this 4 stars but I'm a little on the fence about this recipe. It's "good" but it's not what I was expecting at all. It was more like the potatoes and sauce I have had cooked with pork chops than scalloped potatoes. I did add the ground mustard and paprika and 1/2 c. grated cheese to the dish as well as some salt and pepper, before baking. I did use the onions. It was good, especially for being low fat, but I don't feel like it screams "scalloped potatoes" for me. I will make it again, but maybe try some low fat velveeta or parmesan or something to give it that extra umpf I'm looking for... Still, great recipe, so glad you shared it! OH! - Also I used cream of mushroom soup. Next time I will use cream of chicken and see how that turns out! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Because I had a large-ish casserole full of potatoes, I used two cans of cream soups: cream of celery and cream of mushroom. I also added half of a Velveeta brick because I was aiming for the "cheese" potatoes and cut up several breakfast ham steaks. ThEN, I added the milk, too. I think that is where I went wrong. It was WAAAAAY soupy. After an hour and uber soupy-ness mess, I ended up ladelling out much of the extra liquid, which ACTUALLY ended up being FABULOUS cheese soup. My potatoes weren't getting done, either, so I put the whole dish in the microwave and nuked it for about ten minutes, then put it back in the oven on low broil to brown the top. It took a lot longer than expected, but the flavor was phenomenal. And now I know how to make cheese soup. :) Fabulous. I know what changes to make next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HermionePlease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Added shredded monterey jack cheese and used Cream of Mushroom with roasted garlic!! very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clessard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
These would have only been a four, but I added shredded cheddar during the last ten minutes of cooking. If there were bacon bits added as well as the cheddar these would be fantastic! This recipe is a great way to use extra potatoes and would be a nice complement to any meat dish. Plus it's inexpensive and easy to make, definitely worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Not an amazing recipe, but it was good and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
amazing!!!!!!!!!!!My husband had 10 of his college buddies over for a bbq and I made these potatoes and everyone raved about them. The key to this recipe is cube the potatoes and onions. Also I added chedder cheese on top. so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Totally boring, potatoes came out soft and recipe was easy but so many recipes out there to try and this one isn't worth trying to mess with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States