Baked Salmon with Coconut Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
EXCELLENT recipe! I combined 2 tablespoons of butter (melted) and one table spoon of brown sugar and drizzled it on top of the coconut crust during the last 6 minutes of baking and it created a delicious sugar coating which added a ton of flavor! Everyone loved it--even my husband who isn't a big fan of salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This recipe has potential, but needs a little work. I would marinate the salmon in the lime juice for a while before coating it in the panko and coconut. I found that when I cooked it at the reccommended temp, the coconut burned before the fish was cooked. By covering the fish during cooking, then uncovering and broiling at the end to brown and crisp coating, I think that problem could be solved. I served it with caribbean rice (from Zattarain's) and a salad. The rice and salmon go well together!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I tried this recipe last night and loved it. My husband cooked it for our 34th Anniversary dinner, with my help, and it was delicious. We did bake it covered with aluminum foil, and at the last 5 or 6 minutes we uncovered and drizzeled salmon with melted butter and brown sugar, and just baked it under the broiler till crispy. We both loved it. Thanks for the recipe and tips. Pauline
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Has potential. I used more lemon juice to add additional flavor and cooked it a little longer at a lower temperature to keep it from drying out. I also baked it wrapped in foil and then broiled it for a few minutes at the end to prevent burning the bread/coconut mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Sooooooo yummmmmm! I have found my salmon recipe for life. I served with steamed veggies over jasmin rice and my teenager is begging me to make this again. Thanks for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this today and it turned out better than expected, I did change it a little though: -I toasted the coconut beforehand. -I didn't have any Panko breadcrumbs so I used rice crispies as a substitute. I also dipped the salmon in egg whites before the breadcrumb mix to make it stick better. -I followed a recommendation from a comment below and dripped a mix of 1 tsp brown sugar and 2 tsp melted butter on top of the fish, the last six minutes of bake time and it was great! I used two tbs of canola oil instead of the non stick spray and I thought 425 was too hot so I cooked the fish at 395 and flipped it over halfway through! I'm sure its excellent with the panko breadcrumbs so I need to try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey_interrupted

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I used grouper for this recipe which turned out to be a good choice. I also added olive oil, sesame oil, and ginger to the lime juice and marinated the fish for 3 hours. The flavor was great - and the coconut adds an interesting touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katonah, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
Well, I'm giving this a one star rating for it's ease. I cannot say anything good about the way it tastes. My DH and I love salmon, and this was such a big disappointment. I will not be making this again. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Very simple; very tasty and elegant. My family requests this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEXIS4000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Sorry, I just don't like this recipe. The coconut doesn't do a thing for the salmon. I gave it three stars because it wasn't unpleasant to eat and if you're curious, go ahead, you wouldn't be ruining good salmon or anything. The next time I want salmon without the work of grilling/sauteeing it, I'll make Baked Dijon Salmon; that's a fantastic baked salmon recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States