Baked Salmon with Coconut Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was soooo delish....I took some of the other reviewers recommendations....Soak the Salmon in Lemon Juice for at least 20 mins or more....I also used a little bit or butter and brown sugar and poured it over the salmon right before i put it in the oven...It was great...will def. use again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
fantastic! we tweaked the recipe a little by marinating the fish in lemon juice for 10 min then used crushed 'Captain Crunch' cereal with the bread-crumbs, and then added the brown-sugar & butter (with maple syrup) drizzle when toasting the coconut crust! we had a nice salad with poppy-seed dressing and parisienne potatoes with parsley & butter and pan seared zuchinni with herbs. (thinking an herb/dill would have been nice with the potatoes... but we're really interested to know what other sides go well with this delicious fish dish!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This is a great idea but lacks in flavor. 1st time I used the recipe verbatim...was pretty bland but had promise. Second time, I marinated 1/2 hour in lime juice AND a sprinkling of five-spice powder on both sides. I also used the previous cooks' suggestions of adding the brown sugar and butter streusel. It turned out wonderfully the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
yummy!!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I also added a butter/brown sugar crust in the last 6 minutes of cooking. I actually used spray butter instead of real butter, which worked (surprisingly) very well, tasted amazing, and cut calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I made this salmon for supper last night and I followed the recipe exactly...but I did make the glaze of brown sugar/butter as others suggested. The end result was pretty good, although the vast majority of the flavour did come from the glaze. If I hadn't used this, I think the dish would have been pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This recipe was good, but could have been a little better. It needed a little more flavor, and could have been more spicey, but overall, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This was good. I changed the recipe a lot though- I marinated the salmon with lemon zest for a few hrs, sprinkled salt and pepper onto the filets after marinating, then melted 1 tbsp margarine and 1 tbsp honey together and brushed these onto the filets, and sprinkled on the coconut. (I omitted the bread crumbs, since it might give a grainy texture) Baked for 10mins, drizzled on more margarine + honey mixture, broiled for 4mins. Next time, I'll bake for less time and broil longer. The family loved how flavorful it was with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This recipe was delicious. I do recommend allowing the salmon to marinate in the lime juice for at least 10-15 minutes before dredging it in the crumb and coconut mixture. I increased the lime juice to two tablespoons (the juice of one lime.) In addition I covered the salmon for the first 6 minutes of baking. I then melted one tablespoon of butter and stirred in one tablespoon of brown sugar, drizzled this over the top of the salmon and then added an additional teaspoon or so of coconut to the top of the salmon before returning it to bake for another 6 minutes. It was delicious. Even my 14 month old asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
super good salmon! My family's tastebuds were so happy with this great recipe! Instead of lemon juice from a bottle, i used about half a real lemon on one side of my 3 filets, and then half a lime on the other side. It really did make a difference and added a lot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States