Baked Salmon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I couldn't even taste the orange juice. This recipe was just too bland for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I'm the submitter. A couple things I've noticed is that when I submitted the recipe, I don't think I submitted 1 lb. I think I submitted it as more than that because when I first made it, it was a very large fillet. Maybe the kitchen folks changed it when reviewing it. ?? Also, make sure you drain the rice really well before you add it to the pan with the fish. There's no way it will be soupy with that small amount of OJ. I know some reviewers have said they just put the dry rice right in the pan and added a little water and the OJ there, so I may try that the next time I make this, too! You don't have to use OJ either. You can use lemon juice, or you can use nothing. We just wanted something a little bit sweet because I was tired of the same lemon flavor on fish. You could even do half OJ and half Lemon juice, if you want. I have recently made the switch to Sea Salt, so I've started using that on this recipe, too. Good luck with the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richview, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Yum! A definite "keeper." After reading some of the other reviews, I skipped the rice and made potatoes instead. The salmon was delicious! Moist and great spices on the top -- the ground mustard gave it a little zing. It had great flavor. My kids even liked it (I gave them pieces without much spice.) My uncle who "likes all fish but salmon" even liked it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was the only recipe that showed up for "rosemary, salmon, orange, rice", and after looking over it, it seemed like it had great promise. Truth be told, it was very flavorful and my husband loved it. (I'm not a lover of rice, but even I liked it.) I'm withholding the one star though because firstly, the orange juice was overpowered by the seasonings (which, by the way, were very good), but also because the rice was SOOOO soupy. I had to spoon out water and I didn't bother adding any to the pan with the fish in it. I'm going to try it again with less water (maybe slightly under 2 cups). I sprinkled the seasoning more over the rice (which was partially covering the salmon), so it had plenty of flavor (why I don't like rice in general). I'm going to be adding it, just tweaking it in the future. Always great to have a healthy option to add to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This recipe was pretty easy, but it didn't turn out very tasty when I made it. I didn't have any dill weed, so maybe that was the problem. My family just poured a lot of lime juice on it, and that made it okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Really, really good. Admittedly, I did use lemon juice instead of orange and omitted the dry mustard because I didn't have any, but this was delicious. We loved it; thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I don't know why I didn't love this. I was looking forward to it, maybe since I used frozen filets. I used white rice. I thought the rice would taste salmonish and it didn't. I guess maybe I am more of a fan of the garlic and oil variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNASMOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
My Husband loved this recipe and looked forward to me cooking this again. I was surprised... I am not a fish eater but this was good... I did change cooking time slightly it is a bit too long.... generally you cook this size for 30 to 35 min. and salmon finishes cooking within. I cooked it the full 45 min and it was dry. I also used less oil the second time cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
great recipe! As an aside, being rather conventional, I had my doubts about using a red wine to match up with a fish recipe; was pleasantly surprised to find that the Pinot Noir was the perfect choice in combination with this salmon dish; well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawman

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Excellent and easy. The fish was the only thing I made and I did it just as instructed, minus the rice, and it came out perfect. Served it with asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States