Baked Rigatoni with Italian Sausage and Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
We got a bulb of fennel from our CSA, and I didn't know what to do with it. I'm glad I found this recipe. I'm not a huge fan of sausage, but even I thought this was really good. My husband kept going back again and again for 'just one more bite'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
WOW!! This was so wonderful! I used hot Italian turkey sausage, an Italian blend of shredded cheese, 1/8 of a HUGE onion instead of half, and didn't have any roasted red pepper, but it still turned out so great! I bought some fennel from the farmer's market and was trying to find a recipe to use it in that my husband would still eat - and he did, second helpings and leftovers! After reading the other reviews, I made sure to slice the fennel as thinly as I could, and it was still a little crunchy, but it didn't detract from the meal at all. I have tried a lot of recipes from this site, but this is the first that turned out like it was supposed to on my first try! The flavor was just wonderful, presentation was beautiful, not too dry, and what flavor! My 18 month old liked it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Fantastic flavor. I used Spicy Italian Chicken Sausage to keep it healthy. Love the contrast of spicy sausage against the sweet fennel. The fresh fennel frawns sprinkled on top are a great touch for presentation and extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I loved this dish and so did everybody else in the house. I did add a little bit of riccota cheese before topping with the mozzerella. I will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange Cove, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was soooo good. I used bowtie pasta and eliminated the red pepper and it was amazing. It was like an easy lasagna with using the baked bowtie pasta. Has GREAT flavor, way better than ground beef. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I used ground sausage instead. Loved the flavor of this dish! It's super easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I made this last night for a few friends, and it received universally rave reviews. When I make it again, I might do half sweet sausage and half spicy. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This recipe is DELICIOUS!! I thought it was too simple to be really good. . .it is wonderful! I didn't have any fennel - so I made it without, and it was great. I will definitely try it with the fennel next time. My hysband is a hunter . . .this is a great way to use up venison sausage. Thanks for the great recipe. . .I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I made this the other night for dinner. Wow, ot came out great. No need to change a thing with the recipe. I was unsure about the fennel. Added a unique flavor profile. Would recommend for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Yummy recipe, I include ricotta cheese just to give it a little creaminess, and use mild versus hot sausage and fresh sauce versus bottled, but this turns out great and the leftovers taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States